Airborne Park Speedway has announced the disqualification of two cars from the Ernie’s Discount Tools DIRTcar 358-Modified feature race on ESPN Radio 101.3/Whelen Engineering Night on Saturday, July 12. After post-race inspection following Saturday’s race, the cars of Jessey Mueller and Aaron Bartemy were each found with engine violations.

After crossing the finish line in first place, the DIRTcar “spec” engine in Mueller’s No. 19 car was discovered to have unapproved porting in the cylinder heads, a violation of the 2014 DIRTcar rulebook (section 15.1.2). The violation was discovered in the initial inspection process at Airborne Park Speedway and later verified during a second inspection by officials from DIRTcar Northeast.

Bartemy originally finished the race in third place, but his No. B3 car was found to have its carburetor height measuring higher than the maximum allowable 7” from the engine block (section 15.1.5).

As a result of the infractions, both Mueller and Bartemy have been disqualified from their finishes in the feature race and have been stripped of all championship points and purse money from the race. Leon Gonyo, the original second-place finisher, has been named the official race winner. Mike Wells, Chris Cayea, Andy Heywood, and Vince Quenneville, Jr., will now round out the official top five finishers.

-Airborne Park Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Vermont Motorsports Magazine

Mueller, Bartemy Disqualified for Engine Violations