HAUBSTADT, IN – Billy Moyer dominated Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway leading all 40 laps en route to claiming his first career victory at the quarter-mile oval and his third win of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Moyer claimed the pole-position with Curtis Roberts starting on his outside. Roberts faded early, losing second to Tanner English, who started third, and Randy Korte, who started fifth. English and Korte challenged Moyer for the lead early but had no luck at wrestling the lead away from the Hall of Fame driver from Batesville, Ark.

As Moyer pulled away from the rest of the field, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Austin Dillon charged his way to the front. Dillon, who finished a career-best fifth place Sunday morning at Daytona International Speedway, made the trek to the Indiana track after rain showers cut the Sprint Cup race short.

Dillon started the 40-lap feature in the seventh position, but made his way to the front with just a handful of laps remaining as he passed English for the third position on lap 36. After being passed by Dillon, English spun in turn one causing the caution to come out for the third time of the night. With the caution out, Moyer’s large race lead was erased as Korte and Dillon were brought back to his bumper.

On the ensuing restart, Dillon made his way around Korte for second but could not get to Moyer in time, as Moyer led the final laps, claiming the $5,000 checkered flag, his 85th career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory, tying Shannon Babb at the top of the series all-time wins list.

“We just guessed everything right here tonight,” said Moyer, who was making his firststart at Tri-State Speedway since switching to Longhorn Chassis in the offseason. “Right off the trailer, it wasn’t too bad when we hot-lapped, and we just kept tweaking on it through the night, then in the heat race it felt pretty good, and we did just a few other things for the main event. The track just always keep you guessing, and we just made the right decisions.”

Korte, Bobby Pierce and Ryan Unzicker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Curtis Roberts, Moyer, English and Jason Feger.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Tuesday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky.

DIRTcar PR – STLRacingPhotos.com photo

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.;

July 6, 2014; A-Main (40-laps): 1. 21-Billy Moyer ($5,000), 2. 3-Austin Dillon, 3. 0-Randy Korte, 4. 32-Bobby Pierce, 5. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 6. 7R-Kent Robinson, 7. 25-Jason Feger, 8. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 9. 18-Shannon Babb, 10. 81-Brian Shirley, 11. 11R-Tyler Reddick, 12. 6K-Michael Kloos, 13. 54-Dillan White, 14. 7T-Steve Thorsten, 15. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 16. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 17. 96-Tanner English, 18. 9R-Curtis Roberts, 19. 33-Kevin Cole, 20. 27S-Mike Schulte, 21. 1M-Jim Moon, 22. 61-Caleb Ashby.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Billy Moyer(3)
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000


Mr. Smooth Scores Another Hell Tour Victory in Indiana