A unique race event on Memorial Day was capped off with a classic 50-lap feature that people will be talking about for a long time. Andrew Morrissey will be the one that many will remember as the first winner of the Chicagoland Showdown at Illiana Motor Speedway in Schererville, Indiana.


The race that showcased the best of the ARCA Midwest Tour and the ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS became an instant classic with drivers enjoying the format.


The race was broken down into three 50-lap events. Each series ran a 50-lap feature that will reflect their 2015 point standings. The final 50 featured the two series coming together for a showdown for the money and the tommy gun trophy.


Grant Quinlan appeared to be the driver to put his name in the record books until the caution flew with 12 laps to go after Hunter Baize spun in turns one and two.


On the restart, Quinlan was battling with Eddie Hoffman for the lead. The two went into turn one side-by-side where the two got together allowing Morrissey to jump on the inside and pass them both for the lead and onto the win.


“I got a real good restart coming out of four. We went down into turn one and I saw the 28 (Quinlan) run in hard and try to lean the 71 (Hoffman) up high,” recalled Morrissey. “It opened the bottom for me. I backed off a little earlier, drove down under them and right by them.”


Quinlan would get a flat tire with four laps to go and fall out of the race.


Hoffman and Jeff Cannon put on a great battle for second as Morrissey drove away. Hoffman would edge Cannon at the line for second place. Ricky Baker and Ty Majeski rounded out the top five.


Prior to the final event, each series had a 50-lap event.


The ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS was the first 50-lap feature out on the half-mile oval. Baize would get the lead from Anthony Danta at the start and pull away.


Baize got out to a big lead in the caution-free event. Behind him, fast qualifier Jeff Cannon would make his run to the front after starting sixth. He would get within 0.8 seconds of Baize, but would run out of laps, as Baize would get his first career Super Late Model win.


Grant Quinlan would finish third with Eddie Hoffman in fourth and Boris Jurkovic in fifth.


Ricky Baker watched Baize get his first win and thought it was his time to do the same as well in the ARCA Midwest Tour 50.


Baker started on the pole for their 50-lap event, but it was James Swan getting the lead as the field went into turn one. Nutley would fall back to third with John Nutley in second.


On lap 16, Baker got by Nutley for the second spot. Two laps later, he was challenging Swan for the lead as he made a move down the backstretch and could come around as the new leader.


Chris Weinkauf started eighth and moved his way up through the field, hoping to chase down Baker.


Weinkauf would also run out of laps, as Baker would get his first ARCA Midwest Tour victory.


Nutley was third with Cardell Potter in fourth and Andrew Morrissey in fifth.


Jeff Holtz would get by Rick Corso in the late going of the Mid-American Stock Car Series 50 to win their feature event.


The ARCA Midwest Tour will be back in action on Saturday, June 13th at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, WI.


The ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS next event is the Battle at Berlin 251 on Tuesday, June 16th.


ARCA Midwest Tour Live powered by Speed51.com Replay CLICK HERE


Chicagoland Showdown 50



1 39 Andrew Morrissey
2 71 Eddie Hoffman
3 33C Jeff Cannon
4 52 Ricky Baker
5 91 Ty Majeski
6 7 Paul Shafer
7 33 Wes Griffith Jr
8 51 Anthony Danta
9 43 Matt Kocourek
10 14 Austin Nason
11 11 Andy Jones
12 16 DJ Weltmeyer
13 7D Erik Darnell
14 78 Skylar Holzhausen
15 96 John Nutley
16 76 Jason Weinkauf
17 20 Paul Shafer
18 28 Grant Quinlan
19 53 Boris Jurkovic
20 75 Chris Weinkauf
21 47 Brian Campbell
22 04D Natalie Decker
23 13 Hunter Baize
24 30 Mark Hartline
25 97 James Swan
26 80 Joe O’Connor
27 23 Eddie VanMeter
28 12 Michael Martin Jr
29 04 Matt Hall
30 72 Thomas Woodin


ARCA/CRA Super Series

Chicagoland Showdown 50



1 13 Hunter Baize
2 33 Jeff Cannon
3 28 Grant Quinlan
4 71 Eddie Hoffman
5 53 Boris Jurkovic
6 23 Eddie VanMeter
7 47 Brian Campbell
8 7 Erik Darnell
9 7 Paul Shafer Jr.
10 04 Matt Hall
11 12 Michael Martin Jr.
12 80 Joe O’Connor
13 99 Justin Oertel
14 51 Anthony Danta
15 72 Thomas Woodin
16 33 Wes Griffith Jr.


ARCA Midwest Tour

Chicagoland Showdown 50



1 52 Ricky Baker
2 75 Chris Weinkauf
3 96 John Nutley
4 58 Cardell Potter
5 39 Andrew Morrissey
6 91 Ty Majeski
7 78 Skylar Holzhausen
8 14 Austin Nason
9 11 Andy Jones
10 97 James Swan
11 16 D.J. Weltmeyer
12 76 Jason Weinkauf
13 04 Natalie Decker
14 20 Paul Shafer Sr.
15 24 Jim Olson
16 30 Mark Hartline
17 43 Matt Kocourek

– Kevin Ramsell, Speed51.com Director of Business/Midwest Editor. Twitter: @KevinRamsell

Photo Credit: Speed51.com

Morrissey Wins the Chicagoland Showdown at Illiana