(Thompson, CT) – The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (NWMT) teams have been working hard the last couple weeks getting ready for a marathon run of races at all three of Connecticut’s short tracks. The Mr. Rooter 125 on Wednesday, June 10 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (TSMP) will mark the last of the three races held within a 12-day span. With three different drivers winning the first four races of the season, the battle for the championship is already off to an exciting start.
Ryan Preece currently holds the top position, after winning the last two NWMT races at Waterford New-London Speedbowl and Stafford Motor Speedway. Woody Pitkat, who has also scored a win this season, is next in the standings and is looking for his first NWMT championship after a breakout season in 2014. Last year’s champion, and winner of the first NWMT race of the season at TSMP, Doug Coby will look to climb to the top of the standings with another win at the Mr. Rooter 125.
TSMP’s four NASCAR All-American Series (NWAAS) divisions will also compete on Wednesday evening. The Sunoco Modified division will run a 30-lap race, where Icebreaker winner and last year’s Thompson champion, Ryan Preece, will look to once again hold off Keith Rocco to the checkered flag.. Both Preece and Rocco will also be pulling double duty in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour 125-lap feature, which will be Rocco’s first at TSMP in the #22 Canto Paving / Milton Caterpillar car.
In the Late Model division, Marc Curtis currently stands in the lead after a decisive victory at the Icebreaker in April. Last year’s Late Model champion, Rick Gentes made a charge for the front, but was unable to get past Curtis in the first race of the season.
The Xtramart Limited Sportsman division will run the first race in the Triple Crown Series. This mini-series will consist of three events, in which the drivers will earn both TSMP championship points and Triple Crown Series points. The Triple Crown will pay their own point fund and award the top three drivers. Last year’s Champion, Scott Sundeen stands just one point ahead of Christopher Douton going into the Mr. Rooter 125. Although winning the 2014 championship through consistent driving, car issues kept Sundeen from claiming a win last season. After spending the winter with his team diagnosing the problem, Sundeen was finally able to claim a victory at the Icebreaker and looks forward to a competitive season.
The Monster Mini Stocks will also run their first Triple Crown race. Scott Michalski enters the Mr. Rooter 125 well in the lead, after two victories at the Icebreaker – one claimed at post-race inspection after Eric Bourgeois was disqualified.
The Vintage Outlaw Modifieds will round out the on-track activities for the evening with a 15-lap feature for their third race of the season at TSMP.
The gates for the Mr. Rooter 125 will open at 3 PM on Wednesday, June 10, and feature races will begin at 6 PM. For more information about the Mr. Rooter 125, or about TSMP, please visit our website – www.thompsonspeedway.com, or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter or Youtube.
-Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park Press Release.  Photo Credit: Speed51.com photo

Modified Tour Teams Finish Marathon Run At Thompson