It’s been one of the most prestigious undercard events of the Snowball Derby.  We’re not talking about the Snowflake 100; we’re talking about the Modified feature which has brought drivers from the Midwest, the Southeast and all points of the short track racing world.


Over 40 Modifieds took the green flag a year ago and there is no reason to think that 40, maybe 50 plus could show up to run in their version of the 51st Annual Snowball Derby this Friday night.


This year’s race will be a 75-lap race that will serve as the season finale for the Modifieds of Mayhem Tour.


The importance of this race has grown so large that Late Model drivers are now invading the class seeking wins.  Augie Grill, a two-time Snowball Derby winner, captured the victory in 2017.


Grill is expected to return this year along with Jeff Choquette as the two drivers will run the Modified show as part of a triple-duty effort at the Snowball Derby.


In 2016 Korey Ruble took a swing at the Modified race and took home a trophy.  Ruble has to be considered a favorite after finishing first, second and fourth the last three seasons.


With Grill and Ruble’s wins, as well as Donnie Hamrac’s three-straight wins and Billy Melvin’s win in 2012, it marks six straight wins for the state of Alabama.  The local drivers from the Modified “Alabama Gang” have a win streak going that rivals the in-state Crimson Tide football team.


Another powerful entry is that of Jeff Letson, who has victories in 1998, 2002, and 2005. Letson is one win off the record which is held by Johnny Mitchell, who won four of five runnings in the 90’s.


One more name to watch out for is Kyle Purvis, who has two podiums in the last three runnings of the Modified race.


With all of these entries and storylines to follow, it should be a thrilling 75-lap shootout Friday night at Five Flags.


Race fans unable to attend the 51st Annual Snowball Derby in person will be able to watch a pay-per-view broadcast all week long on, including qualifying night. Five-day video tickets can be purchased now for $74.99 ($35 savings) to watch all of the action. Click here to purchase your video ticket today.


The 51st Annual Snowball Derby will take place on Wednesday, November 28 through Sunday, December 2 at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, FL. For more information regarding the event, visit Snowball Central presented by Schaeffer’s Specialized Lubricants.


Past Snowball Derby Modified Winners

2017 Augie Grill
2016 Korey Ruble
2015 Donnie Hamrac
2014 Donnie Hamrac
2013 Donnie Hamrac
2012 Billy Melvin
2011 Brian Nester
2010 Mark Chrudimsky
2009 Mark Chrudimsky
2008 Tuffy Hudson
2007 Kurt Jett
2006 Jason Boyd
2005 Jeff Letson
2004 Tim Martin
2003 Tim Martin
2002 Jeff Letson
2001 David Hutton
2000 David Hutton
1999 Gary Nix
1998 Jeff Letson
1997 Bill Campbell
1996 Gary McMorrow
1995 Johnny Mitchell
1994 Johnny Mitchell
1993 Johnny Mitchell
1992 Not Run?
1991 Johnny Mitchell
1990 Not Run?
1989 Not Run?
1988 Pete Preston
1987 Danny Bagwell
1986 Unknown
1985 Jay Lindley
1984 Mike Massey


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

Modified History Runs Deep at the Snowball Derby