Mobile International Speedway (AL) has become one of the best kept secrets in the Deep South. The historic race track located in Irvington, Alabama has hosted a wide variety of events over the years, but one of the track’s most prestigious annual events takes place this weekend.


The Lee Fields Memorial 150 for the Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco, the final stop of the season for the Super Late Model touring series at Mobile, will get underway this Saturday night.   The race honors the man that laid down the foundation for all of the great racing held at the track each year.


The late promoter/owner of Mobile was a four-time Gulf Coast Heavyweight champion in the wrestling ring. In 1958, 1959, 1960 and 1962 he dawned that honor as champion of the Gulf Coast. Fields was also the owner and promoter for the Gulf Coast Wrestling Association from late 1959 through January 1978. It was during that time period he took over Mobile International Speedway.


Fields had a knack for pleasing the crowd and he made it work on the racing side. He was focused on putting race fans in the seats and putting on a show for the fans, and he didn’t disappoint.


“Racing lost one the smartest men and best promoters in the business,” said Bob Harmon of All Pro in an interview with a local Alabama paper at the time of his death.”


pfc-anim1Anyone who knows Bob Harmon knows that if that came from his mouth then it meant something.


Fields was well respected among the drivers of his time and his legacy continues as his memorial event reaches its 12th year as a Late Model race. Drivers have come from all over the country to compete in this race. Last year, Oklahoma’s Donnie Wilson won the event over Alabama native Augie Grill in the first running of the race under Super Late Model rules.


The event is not just for the Late Models, either. Trucks, Super Stocks, Sportsman and Bombers will help make up the racing card that honors Lee Fields on Saturday, August 20. Qualifying begins at 4 p.m. CT on Saturday with Southern Super Series qualifying slated to start at 5:30 p.m. Pre-race festivities are scheduled to begin at 7:00 p.m.


For more information on the Lee Fields Memorial, visit For more information on the Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco, visit


Quick Notes:

The race will be a 150-lap, six-tire event. This is just one of the few extra distance shows on the schedule for the Southern Super Series presented by Sunoco.


Local driver Josh Bragg has four top-five runs in the Lee Fields race. Chris Davidson and last year’s winner Donnie Wilson each have a pair of top fives.


Bubba Pollard is a five-time winner of the race, but will not seek a sixth win this year.


Veteran Eddie Mercer won two of the first three Lee Fields Memorials back in 2004 and 2006.


Former Snowball Derby winner Johanna Long has a win at the Lee Fields Memorial. In fact she has never finished out of the top five in three starts.


Past Lee Fields Memorial Winners

2015 Donnie Wilson (SLM)

2014 Bubba Pollard (PLM)

2013 Hunter Robbins (PLM)

2012 Bubba Pollard (PLM)

2011 Bubba Pollard (PLM)

2010 Bubba Pollard (PLM)

2009 Bubba Pollard (PLM)

2008 Johanna Long (PLM)

2007 Cale Gale

2006 Eddie Mercer

2005 Jay Middleton

2004 Eddie Mercer

Mobile Honors Late Promoter With Lee Fields Memorial 150