Minnesotan Officially Crowned NWAAS National Champion

Jacob Goede has officially been crowned as the 2019 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series (NWAAS) National Champion, with NASCAR making the announcement on social media Wednesday.


Goede entered the final weekend of the NWAAS season third in National points, behind Virginia’s Mike Looney and fellow Midwest racer Nick Panitzke.  Goede swept a pair of features at Elko Speedway (MN) while Looney struggled at Langley Speedway (VA), allowing Goede to catapult into the top spot in the final points.


Looney finished second in the final points tally, with Panitzke finishing third.  Four-time NWAAS National Champion Philip Morris finished fourth, while 2010 National Champion Keith Rocco rounded out the top five.


Rocco was the most recent National Champion outside of the Late Model Stock Car hotbed of the Carolinas and Virginia.  Goede is the first Minnesotan to win a NASCAR national series, regional/touring series or local series Division I national title.  He is the first Midwest competitor to win the National Championship since Steve Carlson claimed the honors in 2007.


On Monday, Goede discussed what it would mean if he were officially named National Champion this week following his sweep at Elko on Speed51’s “The Morning Bullring.”


“I’m really proud to bring this back to the Midwest,” Goede stated.  “Steve Carlson did it in 2007.  No one has done it from Minnesota, so to be the first is something I’m really proud of.


“I can’t even say it would be a dream come true because I never dreamed we would be in this position. We have gone down to the National Banquet the last two years as the Elko champion and the Minnesota state champion. You hear the speeches and think it would be so cool to be in that position.  This year, we might have done it.  It’s unreal.”


Fans who missed Goede’s appearance on “The Morning Bullring” can click here to listen to the segment in podcast form.


A full rundown of the 2019 NWAAS National Championship standings will be provided by NASCAR in the coming days.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51.com Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51.com photo

Minnesotan Officially Crowned NWAAS National Champion