SWEETWATER, TENNESSEE — The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com would return to action on Saturday evening at I-75 Raceway just outside of Sweetwater, Tenn. and Daniel Miller of Shelbyville, Tenn. would take the lead around the midpoint of the $3,000 to win event and survive a late-race caution to claim the victory.


Miller’s victory would be his first career Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series victory and take place in his Miller’s Body Shop, Zippy’s Auto Sales, Paul Miller Auto Service sponsored #16 Club 29 Race Car powered by a Scott Bailey Race Engine.


Tommy Kerr would take the lead at the start of the 40-lap event, with Ray Cook, Daniel Miller, Caleb Ashby, and Dusty Carver following. Kerr would open up a comfortable lead and would start the process of lapping slower traffic on lap six and would encounter a gaggle of slower traffic on lap eleven, allowing both Cook and Miller to close the distance to Kerr. Cook would close up to Kerr’s rear bumper on lap fifteen and would pull alongside Kerr one lap later as Kerr’s mount would slow on lap seventeen to trigger the caution flag, with Kerr’s mount suffering a flat right-rear tire and Jeff Neubert would make contact with Kerr when he slowed his mount and Neubert would be done for the night. The restart would only see a mid-pack tangle entering turn one that involved the trio of Brad Coffey, Jason Manley, and Levi Ashby. The next attempted restart would also be null and void when John Ownbey’s machine would slow entering turn three and be done for the event, while then-fifth place running David Payne would pit under the caution with a flat right-rear tire. The next restart would be clean and Cook would hold the race lead, with Miller challenging for the position and Miller would drive under Cook entering turn one on lap nineteen and take the race lead, only to see action halted on the next lap for Cook, who suffered a flat-tire on his machine. Miller would bring the race back to the green flag, with Caleb Ashby now second and Carver third. Miller would set a torrid pace out front and would start working slower traffic on lap twenty-five. While Miller would open up a half-track lead over Ashby, whose machine start showing a slight trail of smoke, Kerr would charge his way back to the fifth position, but would see his charge stall when his machine would slow in turn four on lap thirty-three. The restart would again see Miller blast away from the pack, while Carver challenged Ashby for second and Matt Henderson and Brad Coffey would duel for the fourth position. The final caution of the event flew on lap thirty-eight when Coffey’s entry would slow in turn two. The final restart would see Miller go unchallenged for the lead and drive to victory, with Ashby nursing his machine home to a runner-up finish, with Carver finishing in the third position. Payne would mount a charge back to the front and would pass Henderson on the final circuit to claim the fourth spot, with Henderson settling for fifth. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Ricky Tinch, Coffey, Joey Standridge, Craig Greer, and Jason Manley.


The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by DirtonDirt.com next events will be Friday June 15 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, KY for the Johnny Wheeler Memorial paying $4,031 to win and Saturday June 16 at Richmond Raceway in Richmond, KY for the 2nd Annual Mike Roland Memorial paying $10,031 to win. Both events are co-sanctioned with the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV.


Further information on the Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.CTPROMOTIONS.org.


Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN on June 9, 2018
1. Daniel Miller-Shelbyville, Tenn.
2. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, Tenn.
3. Dusty Carver-Englewood, Tenn.
4. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
5. Matt Henderson-Loudon, Tenn.
6. Ricky Tinch-Deer Lodge, Tenn.
7. Brad Coffey-Maryville, Tenn.
8. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
9. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
10. Jason Manley-Loudon, Tenn.
11. Tommy Kerr-Maryville, Tenn.
12. James Kelso-Maryville, Tenn.
13. Ray Cook-Brasstown, N.C.
14. John Ownbey-Cleveland, Tenn.
15. Levi Ashby-Cumberland Furnace, Tenn.
16. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
17. Perry Delaney-Sparta, Tenn.
18. Barry Goodman-Spring City, Tenn.
19. Michael Robinette-Lenoir City, Tenn.
20. Casey Turman-Lafayette, Ga.
21. Mike Price-Lenoir City, Tenn. (Did Not Start)


-CT Promotions Press Release

-Photo credit: Richard Allen/InsideDirt.com

Miller Drives to Iron-Man Series Victory at I-75 Raceway