Waterford, CT – Waterford Speedbowl returned to the track on Wednesday for another round of Wild ‘n Wacky motorsports competition.  Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott claimed his fourth Wednesday night INEX Legend Cars victory of the year to lead the way.  New winners on the season were Ray Reed of Norwich, winner of the Super X-Car race, and Ken Morin Jr. of Old Saybrook in the INEX Bandoleros.  Jordan Hadley of Quaker Hill took another X-Car checkered flag, and Chris Lee of Uncasville won the night’s Wacky Race.

Christopher landed in INEX Legend Cars Victory Lane for the second consecutive week and fourth time in five Wild ‘n Wednesday events.  He trailed early leader Mike Blaskey, the only other winner to date in the division on Wednesdays, and battled on the track with Joey Ternullo in a race to the front.  Christopher got to Blaskey first, getting past his inside halfway through the 25-lap race.  Ternullo followed suit and stayed with Christopher through a lap-23 caution flag to set the stage for a final shootout between the two.  Christopher controlled the restart and pulled ahead from Ternullo to claim the win.  Ternullo, last year’s division champion, finished a strong second and Blaskey stayed with the lead two and finished third.

Morin outdueled Anthony Marvin in an entertaining 15-lap INEX Bandolero race.  The two were side-by-side the entire distance in a battle that delighted the fans.  Morin, on the outside of the track, was never able to gain a distinct advantage.  He was able to drag race Marvin first to the checkered flag exiting the final corner.  Marvin settled for second and Jonathon Puleo was third.

Reed was a first time winner on the year in Super X-Cars.  He was fast from the start of the race, pulling ahead of his competition once he motored to the lead on lap-11 of the 25-lap feature.  He had to get away from Jim Boyle on a final restart with two laps remaining, then hold back a charging Jon Porter, the division point leader, on the final lap.  Porter couldn’t muster a bid for the win and finished second while Boyle claimed third.

Hadley won for the second consecutive week in X-Car action.  His march to the front was methodical, coming from deep in the field to contend over the second half of the 25-lap race, which was completed without incident or need for a caution flag.  Zac Thomas took the lead from Rich Nye on lap-7.  Hadley moved in to the picture, passing by Nye’s inside on lap-18 to move into second.  Lapped traffic aided Hadley’s effort, slowing Thomas’s pace out front.  Hadley caught Thomas on lap-20 and was to his inside exiting turn two on lap-22.  Hadley took over and closed out the win.  Thomas was second and Randy Johnston finished third.

Lee was the master of the night’s Wacky Flag Pole race.  He bested Chuck McDonald and Matt Westover as they raced the track, circling two obstacles located on each straightaway every lap.

This Saturday another six-division NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program hits the asphalt at the Speedbowl, highlighted by a special 40-lap SK Modified® race.  A week from Saturday, the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour makes its annual stop to the shoreline oval in two on June 21 for the Mr. Rooter 161.  The previous two events for the series came down to electrifying green-white-checkered finishes.  A full NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing card supports the event.  Advance tickets sales are open online by visiting Speedbowl.com or contacting the track office at 860.442.1585.

Unofficial Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/11 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps):  1. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott;  2. Joey Ternullo, Middletown;  3. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury;  4. Nick Ladyga, Voluntown;  5. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem;  6. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA;  7. Josh Zentek, East Hartford;  8. Colin Haley, Ashford;  9. Dennis Pantani, Branford;  10. David Lespinasse, Milford;  11. Andrew Molleur, Shelton;  12. Brandon Martinez, North Kingston, RI;  13. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps):  1. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook;  2. Anthony Marvin, Colchester;  3. Jonathon Puleo, Branford;  4. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield;  5. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook; DNS – Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin

X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill;  2. Zac Thomas, New London;  3. Rich Nye, Stonington;  4. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI;  5. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield;  6. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic;  7. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford;  8. Andrew Lee, Uncasville;  9. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale;  10. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  11. Christopher Lee, Uncasville;  12. Michael Olsen, Deep River;  13. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry;  14. Mike Shaw, Oakdale;  15. Josh Barrie, Voluntown;  16. Rick Mollo, Seymour;  17. Craig Tavernier, Moosup;  18. Matt Ryan, Groton;  19. Tom Sheehan, Baltic;  20. Garrett Kuhn, Waterford;  21. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon;  22. Kim Bickford, Griswold;  DNS – Corey Comeroski, Lebanon

Super X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Ray Reed, Norwich;  2. Jon Porter, Canterbury;  3. Dave Yardley, Berlin;  4. Shane Peele, Wales, MA;  5. Jim Boyle, East Windsor;  6. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton;  7. Marc Shafer, Groton;  8. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington;  9. Bill Reiman, Southington;  10. Ken Downing III, Branford;  11. Ray Phillips, Norwich;  12. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI;  13. James Maher, Shelton;  14. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill;  15. Matt Carlson, Griswold;  16. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan;  17. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI

Wacky X-Cars Flag Pole Race:  1. Christopher Lee, Uncasville;  2. Matt Westover, Gales Ferry;  3. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  4. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry


-Waterford Speedbowl Press Release. Photo Credit: Mike Christopher, Jr. Racing

Mike Christopher Jr. Wins Seventh Legend Feature of 2014