Tucson, AZ – That cliché about good things coming to those who wait was proven true Saturday night at Tucson Speedway.


Taylor Miinch waited, then won the SuperClean 75 presented by Hoosier Tire and continued his domination of the Lucas Oil Modified Series presented by MAVTV.


The 23-year-old from Blossom Valley, California, started on the pole alongside fast qualifier Justin Johnson, surrendered the lead on lap 2 and stalked Johnson until lap 46, when he regained the lead and pulled out to a comfortable advantage over Dylan Cappello and Johnson at the finish.


It was Miinch’s second win in as many races this season, his third championship win in a row over two seasons, his sixth win in 12 starts since the beginning of the 2017 campaign and the 20th consecutive time over three seasons that he has finished fourth or better in the Lineer/Viejas Casino STR Chevrolet immaculately prepared by crew chief John Blodgett and his team.


“We’re definitely hitting the setups, we’ve got good race cars and other people are just missing,” the series reigning champion said. “We’re on a good hot streak. We have a really good team and everybody works together.


“When I was coming to the finish I was thinking ‘another win; how many have we got in the last year?’ But you never know when it all could stop. You never know if you’ll get another one.”


Johnson, a series rookie with several Super Late Model championships on his resume, has a seventh, a third and a fast qualifier award in his two starts for Chris Bray’s Phil’s Phabrication team, but said he was “disappointed for sure” at his finish on Tucson’s 3/8-mile paved oval.


“We led a lot, but we kind of ran out of tires there at the end,” he said. “I don’t think we had enough wedge in the car. I started rolling the throttle and it took too long to get on it. I think we did a pretty good job saving the tires, actually. It was just the set-up. It was too free, and it was free from early on so I knew it was going to be a long race.”


Miinch, who started on the pole after the inversion, led the opening lap and said he wasn’t pushing his car after Johnson took the lead.


“Justin raced me pretty hard and got by me,” Miinch said, “but I could keep him within six car lengths or so and pull up on him. “I could see him getting loose so when we were going through lapped traffic I tried to put some pressure on him and see if he would make a mistake. He didn’t make a mistake, I just had a better car and I was able to get by him when we cleared the traffic.”


Cappello, who will graduate from Northern Arizona University in May, said he was pleased with his finish after starting eighth and slowly working his way through traffic and avoiding two multi-car collisions to overtake Johnson with seven laps to go.


“I think I might have had a little bit more if we’d had another caution flag,” the 2014 series champion said, “but overall I’m happy. We were saving the tires and passing cars. It was a hard task but we got it done.”


The race was slowed early on by four caution periods, the final one for an incident between Scott Winters and Blake Rogers that left Winters’ car on its side as it slid down the back straightaway. Fortunately, Winters was able to climb from the car with no apparent injuries and the race was trouble free for the final 60 laps.


Next on the schedule is the General Tire 75 presented by SuperClean at The Bull Ring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway May 5.


-Lucas Oil Modified Series Press Release & Photo


Lucas Oil Modifieds Superclean 75 Unofficial Results

Tucson Speedway (AZ) – April 14, 2018

1. Taylor Miinch (4T), Blossom Valley, Ca.; 2. Dylan Cappello (11), Peoria, Az.; 3. Justin Johnson (17ph), Las Vegas, Nevada; 4. Cody Kay (2K), Sparks, Nevada; 5. Shelby Stroebel (24), Meridian, Idaho; 6. Kyle Ray (58A), Littleton, Colo.; 7. Larry Gerchman (25), Lake Havasu City, Az.; 8. Aaron McMorran (22), Las Vegas; 9. Michael Mitchell (77), Loomis, Ca.; 10. Cameron Morga (54), Albuquerque, N.M.; 11. Chris Cook (2), Tabiona, Utah; 12. Jeremy Kay (1K), Sparks, Nevada; 13. Ryan Schartau (7R), Ontario, Ca.; 14. Doug Carpenter (3), El Cajon, Ca.; 15. David Arce (5), Santee, Ca.; 16. Eddie Secord (84), Oak Hills, Ca.; 17. Mark Allison (115), Las Vegas; 18. Sierra Furia (37), Lakeport, Ca.; 19. William Guevara (55), Lake Havasu City; 20. Blake Rogers (4B), Yuma, Az.; 21. Ryan Partridge (9), Rancho Cucamonga, Ca.; 22. Scott Winters (24A), Tracy, Ca.; 23. Jason Irwin (9i), Albuquerque, N.M.; 24. Dustin Tilbury (17D), Edgewood, N.M.

Miinch Uses Pattern of Success to Fashion Another Win