Midwest Tour Announces Date for 2020 Season Opener

Morris, IL- The ARCA Midwest Tour will begin their 2020 Championship Season on Saturday night, July 11 at Grundy County Speedway with the 34th running of the Wayne Carter Classic at the 1/3-mile paved oval. A $5,000 winner’s purse has been posted by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck & Equipment for the 100-lap contest, which will pay $725 to start the 25-car main event.


The ‘Stars and Cars’ of the Midwest Tour and fans alike will be welcomed to a newly renovated fairgrounds facility with updated amenities, newly paved roads and for the first time ever, the Midwest Tour will race under state of the art LED lights.


“This is where it all began for my parents with ARTGO so it is pretty special that Grundy is the track where the Tour starts up again.” Noted Midwest Tour Promoter Gregg McKarns, whose parents John and Sue McKarns promoted the ARTGO Challenge Series through 1997. “The video of their new lights is phenomenal. I can hardly wait to see everyone’s reaction when we roll into Morris.”


The video McKarns referenced can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_jCR08I2e4


Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series.


The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. The list of winners and participants is a who’s who of Midwest Short Track Racing. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30 p.m., qualifying begins at 5 p.m. with the first race starting at 7 p.m.


Fans are encouraged to buy their tickets in advance as attendance limits will be in place at a to be determined percentage. Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free.


For additional information or to buy tickets for this event, please visit www.midwesttour.racing Friday night weekly racing action is set to begin at Grundy on June 26.


2020 Midwest Tour Schedule

Sat July 11 Grundy County Speedway Morris, IL Wayne Carter Classic 100

Sat July 25 State Park Speedway Wausau, WI Larry Detjens Memorial 125

Tue Aug 4 Wisconsin Int’l Raceway Kaukauna, WI Gandrud Auto Group 250

Aug 21/22/23 To Be Announced

August 28/29 To Be Announced

Sat Sept 5 Dells Raceway Park Wi Dells, WI Escape to Wisconsin 100

Oct 10/11 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway West Salem, WI Oktoberfest Race Weekend


Wayne Carter Classic Winners

1975 Tom Reffner

1976 Dave Watson

1977 Larry Phillips

1978 Mike Miller

1979 Mike Miller

1980 Mark Malcuit

1981 Larry Schuler

1982 Jim Sauter

1983 Tom Reffner

1984 Dick Trickle

1985 Butch Miller

1986 Joe Shear

1987 Dick Trickle

1988 Joe Shear

1989 Ted Musgrave

1990 Steve Carlson

1991 Kevin Cywinski

1992 Steve Holzhausen

1993 Joe Shear

1994 Joe Shear

1995 Joe Shear

1996 Dave Weltmeyer

1997 Joe Shear

1998 Eddie Hoffman

1999 Steve Carlson

2011 Ross Kenseth

2012 Eddie Hoffman

2013 Jonathan Eilen

2014 Chris Weinkauf

2015 Eddie Hoffman

2016 Ty Majeski

2017 Ricky Baker

2018 Dalton Zehr


-Midwest Tour Press Release

-Photo credit: Bruce Nuttleman

Midwest Tour Announces Date for 2020 Season Opener