EASTABOGA, AL — The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series presented by Max Fab made stop #2 of the 2018 season at the Talladega Short Track Saturday night for the 1st Annual Governors Cup and Douglasville, GA., driver Michael Page scored the win in the 60 lap main event  that was ran caution free in front of huge crowd.  Page started outside pole by virtue of his heat race win with SUNOCO Race Fuels fast qualifier Dillon Tidmore on the pole.  Page moved ahead of Tidmore down the backstretch at the drop of the green flag, then command the rest of the race as he had to work heavy lap traffic and then had to hold off late race challenges by Jason Hiett and Jake Knowles to get the win which is career win three with the Southern All Stars.


Second place was Jake Knowles of Rome, GA., with his best run with the series this year as he, Hiett and William Thomas all battled it out for the second through 4th spot with Knowles slipping under Hiett late in the race to take second.


Jason Hiett of Oxford, AL., came home in third place as he would catch Page in lapped traffic and make a run on him but could never get around him on the high side.


Fourth place was William Thomas of Phenix City, AL., in the Dana Eiland car.  Thomas was battling for a top three spot but late in the race he fell back to a solid fourth place finish.


Fifth place was the four time Southern All Star Champion Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, TN., who was in a spirited battle late in the race with Dane Dacus, Ronnie Johnson and Ray Cook when Hickman broke free of them and moved into his top five finish.


Finishing in sixth place was Dillon Tidmore, seventh to Dane Dacus, eighth to Vic Hill, ninth to Ray Cook and tenth to Ronnie Johnson.


RACE TIDBITS: Southern All Star point contenders had a rough as Jay Scott, Mark Dodson and Ray McElhiney all struggled while Brad Skinner, Eric Hickerson and Joseph Faulkner failed to make the show.


Four time Southern All Star Champion Clint Smith dropped a valve after hot laps ending his night.


The Governors Cup was the 100th sanctioned Southern All Star event at the 1/3 mile oval.


First time starts with the series this season include William Thomas, Ray Cook, Jason Lively, Cruz Skinner, Michael Arnold, and Tom Maddox


The next Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series event will be Saturday night August 25th at the Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN., and the Hall of Fame 40 paying $5,000 to win.


-Southern All Stars Press Release

-Photo credit: TraySees Photography

Michael Page $10,000 Richer After Southern All Stars Governors Cup