BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA – David Mayhew won his fourth NASCAR Pro Late Model race of the year, taming a wild 40 lap feature that highlighted Saturday’s events at Kern County Raceway Park that included the INEX National Qualifiers.  Mayhew, the 2013 CITGO Lubricants Late Model champion, topped his teammate Johnny White for the $2,000 victory.

Mayhew led the opening 31 laps after starting third, and fended off numerous challenges from Dallas Montes in the process.  A caution on lap 31 gave Montes a shot to challenge Mayhew further, and the two came together in turn one with Montes spinning to bring out a caution on lap 33.

Montes made a move inside 2013 champion Tim Smith on the restart and slid hard into the inside wall of the backstretch to end his race winning hopes.  White seized the opportunity on the ensuing lap 34 restart to make his own bids at the lead.  Ultimately, Mayhew was able to pull away in turn two on the final lap to take a narrow .226 victory with Tim Smith, Kenny Smith, and CITGO LM regular Buddy Shepherd rounding out the top-five.

Four INEX Legends drivers stamped their tickets to the INEX Nationals in Las Vegas this October, by their performances in Saturday’s 35 lap qualifier on the quarter-mile speedway.  Benicia’s Timmy Mangini led the first 16 laps of the feature before being overhauled by his brother Tony on lap 17.  Tony Mangini brought track points leader Brandon Weaver with him and Weaver promptly took over the lead on lap 19 and never really looked back.

Weaver’s win was his fifth of the season and gave him the Young Lions qualifier berth, while Timmy Mangini topped Semi-Pro, Tony Mangini in Pro, and Eric Olson claimed the Master qualifying spot.  All four drivers are now guaranteed A Main starting positions in the INEX Nationals.

Making only their second appearance at Kern County Raceway Park, and exactly one year and one day removed from their last stop at the half-mile, the INEX Thunder Roadsters came out 13 strong for a 30 lap contest.  The race was a back-and-forth battle between 2013 winner Ian Anderson of Las Vegas, NV, and Paul Peeples, Jr. a regular at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka, CA.

Peeples surrendered the lead to Anderson on lap seven but followed him through heavy lapped traffic in a race long cat and mouse game.  Anderson came out on top of Peeples by a scant .290 seconds with fellow Eureka pilot Robbie Nelson third ahead of Las Vegas’ David Brandon and Fontana’s Nick D’Egidio.

Shane Thompson initially won the 25 lap Super Stock race, what would be his third of the year, before being disqualified in post race tech inspection.  A division record nine Super Stocks were on hand with eight starting the feature.  Mike Reed led the first laps before Thompson took over on lap three.

Thompson enjoyed a comfortable lead but Tehachapi’s Gene Fife slowly but surely reeled him in to within a car length.  A caution on lap 23 set up a two lap shootout but Thompson was able to scoot away with the win.  Fife was named the race winner after post-race inspections with first timer Austin Manzella second and points leader Perrin Koostra third.

INEX Bandolero points leader Tyler Bannister won yet again, scoring his seventh win in eight starts this year.  The 2013 champion trailed rival Ryan Vargas from La Mirada for 18 laps before making the race winning move on lap 19.  Vargas kept Bannister in sight and attempted several crossover moves but was unable to complete the pass.  Braden Rogers finished third.

Bakersfield Police Department scored an important victory in the 911 Racing Series to take over the points lead in the popular new division.  The 15 lap race was halted briefly when Taft Police Officer Moises Martinez tagged the turn two wall, but he was uninjured.  Alex Patino steered the BPD car to the win ahead of Greg Bittle from Kern County Probation and Bakersfield Firefighter Dan Brown.

Kern County Raceway Park is dark for racing action on August 16th but will host the Cinertain Drive In Movie showing Talladega Nights.  Gates open at 7 p.m. with the movie airing in the infield of the speedway at 8:30 p.m.  Tickets are just $20 per car load!

Major marketing partners at Kern County Raceway Park include Budweiser, CITGO Lubricants, Monster Energy, Advance Beverage Company, Coca Cola, DC’s RV Center, Three-Way Chevrolet, and Whelen Engineering.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at  More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

For marketing information on Kern County Raceway Park, contact Steven Blakesley by email at [email protected] or by phone at (661) 835-1264, ext 3203.

August 9, 2014 INEX National Qualifier night
Kern County Raceway ParkBakersfield, CA

NASCAR Pro Late Model – 40 laps
1) 17 David Mayhew, 2) 7 Johnny White, 3) 99 Tim Smith, 4) 6 Kenny Smith, 5) 22s Buddy Shepherd, 6) 34 Dallas Montes, 7) 37 Keith Spangler DNS: 9 Justin Westmoreland, 26 Donny St. Ours 29:54.891

Super Stock – 25 laps
1) 7 Gene Fife, 2) 28 Austin Manzella, 3) 1 Perrin Koostra, 4) 94 Greg Puskarich, 5) 10 Mike Reed, 6) 77 Michael Nicks, 7) 4 Howie Smith DQ: 12 Shane Thompson DNS: 14 Dylan Baker 13:58.554

INEX Thunder Roadster – 30 laps
1) 21 Ian Anderson, 2) 15 Paul Peeples, Jr., 3) 24 Robbie Nelson, 4) 11 David Brandon, Jr., 5) Nick D’Egidio, 6) 42 Chris Bosley, 7) 62 Doug Germano, 8) 3 Anthony Mancuso, 9) 43 David Quartaro, 10) 18 Darin Calloway, 11) 14 Joe Mancuso, 12) 4 Herb Williamson, 13) 33 Michelle Williamson 24:43.138

INEX Legend – 35 laps
1) 15 Brandon Weaver, 2) 7 Tony Mangini, 3) 72 Timmy Mangini, 4) 31 Eddie Garone, 5) 17 Eric Olson, 6) 19 Chad Actis, 7) 24 Colton Page, 8) 5 Garrett Fine, 9) 71 Josh Ayers, 10) 80 Sonny Sparks, 11) 18 Justin Eddleman 19:13.070

INEX Bandolero – 30 laps
1) 51 Tyler Bannister, 2) 23 Ryan Vargas, 3) 29 Braden Rogers, 4) 05 Kabe McClenny, 5) 40 Sam Richardson 8:01.363

911 Racing Series – 15 laps
1) 6 Alex Patino, 2) 7 Greg Bittle, 3) 3 Dan Brown, 4) 55 Victor Cruz, 5) 16 Phil Tampinco, 6) 4 Kevin Green, 7) 17 Moises Martinez 10:20.133

Mayhew Takes Win on Wild Night at Kern