MARS Racing Series Season Concludes with First Time Winner

SALEM, INDIANA — The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series would make their first-ever appearance at Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem, IN on Friday evening with the 2019 series title on the line in the tour’s season finale and Greg Johnson of Bedford, IN would become the ninth different winner on the tour in 2019 with a flag-to-flag victory worth $3,000, while David Seibers of Chapel Hill, TN would lay claim to the 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series title.


Johnson’s victory would be his first career Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series triumph and would behind the wheel of the Mike Weinle Motorsports, Dirt Track at Edgewater, Michael J’s Auto Sales, John Weber, Hoosier Tire of Indy sponsored #17J Club 29 Race Car, Dargie Race Engine powered entry.


The initial start of the race would see the yellow flag wave for a three-car tangle in turn four before the entire field had went past the start/finish line for the start. The second attempted start would go green and Greg Johnson would take the race lead, with Devin Gilpin, Shelby Miles, David Seibers, and Dean Carpenter giving chase. Johnson and Gilpin would quickly pull away from the field, while Seibers would take the third position from Miles on lap four and Carpenter would claim the fourth position from Miles one circuit later, as the lead duo of Johnson and Gilpin would have to start negotiating lapped traffic by lap six. The only other caution of the event would fly on lap nine for debris on the track in turn one and turn four. The restart would see Johnson and Gilpin again pull away from the pack, while Miles would retake the fourth position from Carpenter. Johnson would begin to have to work lapped traffic again by lap sixteen and would catch a trio of backmarkers by lap twenty, allowing Gilpin to close in on Johnson. Johnson would get bottled up in the lapped traffic on lap twenty-two, allowing Gilpin to take a look to the outside of Johnson exiting turn four for the lead, but Gilpin could not capitalize and Johnson would clear those cars only to have work a pair of slower cars again on lap twenty-four. Johnson would quickly clear the duo of lapped cars this time, affording Gilpin only one more look to the outside again in turn four. Johnson would keep Gilpin at bay the remainder of the way and score the victory, with Gilpin finishing second and Seibers finishing third. Miles and Carpenter would complete the top five at the finish. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Skyller Lewis, Bill Sheets, Steve Godsey, Karlie Holt, and Brian Wilhite.


In post-race ceremonies, David Seibers would be crowned the 2019 Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series champion. The Chapel Hill, TN native would score one victory on his way to the series title, while finishing in the top ten on six occasions. Seibers championship effort would come in a Black Diamond Race Car powered by a Custom Race Engine with sponsorship from All Seasons Comfort, SMS Electrical and Plumbing GPS Motorsports, Nunley’s Excavating, and Pure Romance.


For more information concerning the Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series, please call series promoter/race director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or (828) 361-5981 or log on to the series official webpage at .


The Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Racing Series would like to thank the following 2019 Series Sponsors: Schaeffer’s Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tire Midwest, AR Bodies, Cruise with the Champions, Knowles Race Parts & Bodies,, Brucebilt Performance, Wiles Racing Driveshafts and Custom Suspension.


Official Summary of Results


Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil MARS Super Late Model Racing Series at Thunder Valley Raceway in Salem, IN on August 30, 2019

  1. Greg Johnson-Bedford, Ind.
  2. Devin Gilpin-Columbus, Ind.
  3. David Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
  4. Shelby Miles-Bloomington, Ind.
  5. Dean Carpenter-Coldwater, Miss.
  6. Skyller Lewis-Brownstown, Ind.
  7. Bill Sheets-Milan, Ind.
  8. Steve Godsey-Bedford, Ind.
  9. Karlie Holt-Orleans, Ind.
  10. Brian Wilhite-Edinburgh, Ind.
  11. Britan Godsey-Bedford, Ind.
  12. Dakota Kibel-Columbus, Ind.
  13. Lucas Pace-Bedford, Ind.
  14. Josh Walker-Shepherdsville, Ky.
  15. Remington Gill-Mitchell, Ind.
  16. Michael Seibers-Chapel Hill, Tenn.
  17. Mike Bechelli-Elizabethtown, Ind.
  18. Dustin Golden-Bedford, Ind.


-MARS Racing Series Press Release

-Photo credit: James Essex

MARS Racing Series Season Concludes with First Time Winner