SAN TAN VALLEY, Ariz. — After being in the hunt throughout the previous rounds, Tennessee’s Mike Marlar put together a perfect night on Friday to capture his first Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented O’Reilly Auto Parts win in the 30-lap Super Late Model feature event atop the 1/3-mile FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway.


Marlar wired the field to capture the $5,000 bag o’ loot after finishing no lower than fourth in the opening three legs of the six race mini-series.


“We were close there all week long,” Marlar commented in victory lane. “Little things were keeping us out.”


While Marlar became the third different winner in four Super Late Model events, Blake Jegtvig became the fourth different winner in as many Modified main events while Cole Searing posted his second X Modified win of the week.


After establishing the fastest overall time in group qualifying and then winning his heat race, Shaw gunned into the lead at the outset of the 30-lap Black Diamond/Club 29 Super Late Models presented by M&W Transportation feature and led all the way en route to Hoker Trucking Victory Lane for his first career Wild West Shootout triumph.


Marlar kept opening round winner Ricky Weiss at bay over the final half of the race to secure the win by 0.638-seconds. “I got by a few little tight spots with some lapped cars, but got through ‘em good.”


Weiss settled for runner-up honors with defending Wild West Shootout champ Bobby Pierce rounding out the podium in third after holding down second until the 18th lap. Chris Simpson and Earl Pearson, Jr., rounded out the top five.


After a 12th-place finish, two-time winner Don Shaw still has a shot at an extra $25,000 from the Keyser Manufacturing Quarter-Million Bonus if he can top the final two rounds. Marlar and Weiss have a shot at a $10,000 bonus if either can win the final two events.


Blake Jegtvig made it four different winners in as many rounds of MVT/Border International USRA Modified presented by Arizona Differential action by parking it in Hoker Trucking Victory Lane after 25 laps of action.


Jegtvig took the win from the third starting position with 11th-starter Stormy Scott, current Wild West Shootout points leader Johnny Scott, pole starter Jake O’Neil and Tyler Peterson rounding out the top five.


Cole Searing became the first repeat winner in X-Mods presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson competition by taking the checkered flag in the 20-lap feature event.


Searing beat Round Three winner Jason VandeKamp to the line with Eric Hauglane, Lucas Rodin and Josh Cain rounding out the top five.


Wild West Shootout action continues at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway with Round Five on Saturday at 5:00 p.m. with the finale set for Sunday at 5:00 p.m.


A $5,000 winner’s share is up for grabs for the Super Late Models through the opening five nights of competition before the stakes are upped to $13,000-to-win for the January 14 finale.


“A” Main (30 Laps):  1. 157-Mike Marlar, 2. 7w-Ricky Weiss, 3. 32p-Bobby Pierce, 4. 32-Chris Simpson, 5. 98-Earl Pearson, Jr., 6. 97-Cade Dillard, 7. 37w-Scott Ward, 8. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 9. 20-Rodney Sanders, 10. 89-Mike Spatola, 11. 96rc-R.C. Whitwell, 12. 42s-Don Shaw, 13. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 14. 32b-Clay Daly, 15. 37x-Rob Mayea, 16. 18-Chase Junghans, 17. 01-Garrett Alberson, 18. 7mm-Michael Maresca, 19. 16-Austin Siebert, 20. 15k-Justin Kay, 21. 15v-Colby Vandenbergh, 22. 17-Billy Franklin, 23. 90-Pat Doar, 24. 44x-Clint Smith.


-Wild West Shootout Press Release

-Photo Credit: Lonnie Wheatley

Marlar Masters Wild West Shootout Round Four