Bad weather in the Twin Cities won again on Saturday night as only two feature events were completed in the NASCAR Whelen All American series on New Prague Auto group Eve of Destruction night at Elko Speedway.

Chris Marek from Lakeville (MN) won the Big 8 feature at Elko Speedway. Marek stared up front and lead all 20 laps, he beat Nick Beaver from Rosemount (MN) to the finish line by 1.083 seconds for the win. That was three straight feature wins for Marek to start the 2014 season at Elko Speedway. “That’s pretty big, before this little streak go going I’ve never even won two features back to back,” said Marek “it’s pretty cool.” Marek also leads in the point standings by 8 points over Michael Beamish.

Brent Kane from Lonsdale (MN) started on the front row in this 20 car field and won the Genz-Ryan Thunder Car main event at Elko Speedway. The race was stopped because of rain after 10 laps but was considered a complete feature because at least half of the scheduled 20 laps were completed. Conrad Jorgenson from Lakeville (MN) moved up from his sixth starting position to finish second. Jorgenson leads in the season point standings by 5 points over Kane.

A few heat races were run with Jon Lemke from Shakopee (MN) and Shon Jacobsen from East Bethel (MN) winning in the Great North Legends division. Jacobsen leads two time winner Tyler Sjoman by 9 points in the standings.

Norm Grabinger from Medford (MN) and Ryan Varner from Minnetonka (MN) won the two Pepsi Power Stock heat races. Joe Tacheny from Mankato (MN) was involved in a big wreck as his car hit the wall exiting corner number two causing extensive damage. Motor problems caused Taylor Goldman from Minnetonka (MN) to race a back up car, she finished fourth in her heat race and holds on to the Championship point lead by just one point over Grant Brown of Prior Lake (MN).

Michael Wachs Jr from Shakopee (MN) and Brian Adams from Norwood (MN) won the two Mini Stock heat races. Wachs now has a slim one point lead in the point standings over both Justin Schelitzche and Tyler Christensen.

To get full race results go to and click RESULTS.

Race fans in attendance were given rain tickets good for a FREE admission to the races at Elko Speedway the Midwest Center for Speed on either June 14th or June 28th, the ticket is not good for the ARCA race scheduled for June 21st.

Next Saturday night June 7th it’s great family entertainment as the Minnesota Corn Growers Association is hosting FREE NIGHT at Elko Speedway. Admission for everyone is FREE. Racing will take place in all seven divisions beginning at 7pm plus a FREE concert after the races in Champions Event Center by the Rowdy Cowboy show. Elko Speedways’ Larry the Cable guy will also entertain at intermission.

Get more information by liking Elko Speedway on Facebook, or following Elko Speedway on Twitter and YouTube. You can also call (952) 461-RACE or go to

– Elko Speedway Press Release.  Photo Credit: Elko Speedway

Marek Beats the Rain at Elko Speedway