HUMBOLDT, Kan.-Fans can get a double dose racing on Thursday when the King of America V presented by Chix Gear kicks off the quest for a new king to crown.


With wet weather forcing the cancellation of Wednesday night’s practice session, the Humboldt Speedway will now host open practice on Thursday morning from 10 a.m. to 12 noon. Admission to the grandstands is free.


The who’s who of dirt modified racing will take to the track later that night for the first round of qualifying heat races for the United States Modified Touring Series, along with a complete program of the Holley Iron Man Series featuring USRA B-Mods and a $1,000-to-win nightcap for the USMTS Modifieds.


Each driver will run four heat races from four different starting positions-two on Thursday and two on Friday. Passing points will be combined for each driver using the best three of four heat races, and the top 12 drivers in overall combined points from Thursday and Friday are locked into the first six rows of Saturday’s “A” Main.


The winner of Saturday’s 100-lap main event will earn $10,000 while every driver making the big dance will pocket no less than $1,000 to start the race.


Two-time and defending USMTS National Champion Rodney Sanders is the defending King of America. Ryan Gustin, who captured back-to-back USMTS titles in 2011 and ’12, won the 2013 KoA main event and Stormy Scott won the race in 2012. Nine-time USMTS National Champion Kelly Shryock won the inaugural race in 2011.


All three days of this week’s blockbuster event will be broadcast live online by RacinDirt. Click and go get your live watch package today.


Single-day options are available, but your best deal is the three-day V.I.P. pass which gets you all of the driver interviews, special features and every single lap of every single race all three nights for just $59.95, all from the comfort of your own home. Visit right now and reserve your seat.


Pre-entered USMTS drivers as of March 24: John Allen, Chanute, Kan.; Trevor Anderson, Watertown, S.D.; Josh Angst, Winona, Minn.; Austin Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; Casey Arneson, Fargo, N.D.; Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; Cody Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; Jim Body, Diamond, Mo.; Scotty Bough, Nevada, Mo.; Chris Brown, Spring, Texas; Greg Burt, Enid, Okla.; Dave Cain, Corcoran, Minn.; Tate Davenport, Vinton, Ky.; Brandon Davis, Medford, Minn.; Chad Davis, Tulsa, Okla.; Cade Dillard, Robeline, La.; Joe Duvall, Claremore, Okla.; Alex Engelstad, Beltrami, Minn.; Fito Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.; Jake Gallardo, Las Cruces, N.M.; Brady Gerdes, Villard, Minn.; Ronnie Gould III, Seminole, Okla.; Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.; Pat Graham, Ames, Iowa; Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa; Jake Hartung, Elmwood, Wis.; Dagan Heim, Rosemount, Minn.; Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel, Iowa; Philip Houston, Odessa, Texas; Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.; Dustin Hyde, Texarkana, Texas; Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.; Ben Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan.; Lucas Lee, Paris, Tenn.; Logan Martin, West Plains, Mo.; Chris Moore, Madison, S.D.; Mike Mullen, Suamico, Wis.; Paul Niznik, Medford, Wis.; Aaron Olson, Mekinock, N.D.; Jeremy Payne, Springfield, Mo.; Shaun Peterson, Alexandria, Minn.; Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan.; Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.; Jason Pursley , Hermitage, Mo.; Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla.; Justin Rexwinkle, South Coffeyville, Okla.; Jared Rogers, Tecumseh, Kan.; Shane Sabraski, Rice, Minn.; Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas; Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn.; Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.; Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.; Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa; Austin Siebert, Grandview, Mo.; Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa; Shane Sprinkle, Andrews, Texas; Mike Stearns, Hecla, S.D.; Thomas Tillison Jr., Wellston, Okla.; Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.; Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.; Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa; Jessy Willard, Mound, Kan.


To learn more about the United States Modified Touring Series, visit online or call 515-832-7944. You can also like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter at or subscribe to our YouTube channel at


– United States Modified Touring Series Release & Photo

Make it a Double: King of America V kicks off Thursday