Ty Majeski came to Marshfield Motor Speedway in Marshfield, Wisconsin hoping to back up a previous Truck Series win with taking his Super Late Model to victory lane. That goal was accomplished on Saturday night as he picked up his fifth ARCA Midwest Tour victory of the season and his 19th overall in 2016.


After starting seventh, the two-time defending ARCA Midwest Tour champion followed Cardell Potter towards the front. On lap 21, Potter would take the lead from Skylar Holzhausen with Majeski in tow.


Potter was able to open a small gap between him and Majeski until the caution flew on lap 39 when Brian Hakala came to a stop in turns three and four.


Majeski would restart on the outside of Potter. On the restart, the two put on a great side-by-side battle where the fans saw Majeski try to get the lead on the outside. On lap 41, Majeski made a crossover move in turn four to get on the inside of Potter going into turn one.


Majeski used the favored line to his advantage by getting ahead of Potter on lap 46, and would go on to lead the final 54 laps.


Two laps later, fast qualifier Chris Weinkauf would pass Potter for second and appear to chase Majeski down.


The final caution flew on lap 52 allowing Weinkauf to restart on the outside of Majeski. But on the restart, Majeski would pull away and not be challenged for the remainder of the event.


“I knew the 75 car (Chris Weinkauf) was going to be the car to beat and we were battling pretty hard early on in the race,” Majeski said in victory lane.  “I knew if I could wear his stuff out a little bit, and it worked out to we got a lead and he couldn’t close the gap at the end.”


While Weinkauf would have liked to finished one position ahead, he was pleased with his second place run.


“I think we had something for him (Majeski). I kind of gotten screwed up in the beginning. I was coming on the outside and I think Derek Kraus got up into me a little bit and not sure what happened there. But we were pretty good. I tried to give him a little bit in the beginning and he wasn’t giving me anything either, so congratulations to him,” Weinkauf said after the race. “I’m happy to be second obviously, we struggled a lot this year and we have been looking to get on the podium for a long time, and we are here. We were a little free. I think the front end got screwed up a little bit in the beginning of the race and I think that hurt me a little bit in the end.”


Dalton Zehr ran in the top five all night and came through at the end to finish third.


“At first I didn’t think I was as good as I thought it would be 50 laps into the race, and then 70 laps into the race I was gaining on them. Then all of a sudden I was passing them like they are standing still,” Zehr recalled after the race. “At the end I was thinking how far up is that 91 car, but they were both very fast in front of me, but if this was a 200 lap race, who knows. It was definitely coming on strong at the end and it was fun running this race.”


Potter would finish fourth with Nick Barstad rounding out the top five.


Majeski came into Saturday night’s event with a 77-point lead in the standings over Paul Shafer Jr. and a 112-point lead over Casey Johnson.


After his victory, with three events remaining on the schedule, Majeski now has a 112-point lead over Shafer and 146 points ahead of Johnson in the standings. Johnson finished 12th and Shafer was 14th.


The next event for the ARCA Midwest Tour is on Saturday, September 3rd at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin.


For more results from the Mid-Summer Showdown, please visit 51’s Speed Central at: http://speed51.com/speed-central-arca-midwest-tour-marshfield-wi/


By: Kevin Ramsell, Speed51.com Midwest Correspondent @KevinRamsell

Photo Credit: Bruce Nuttleman/Speed51.com



Mid-Summer Showdown 100



1 91 Ty Majeski
2 75 Chris Weinkauf
3 711 Dalton Zehr
4 58 Cardell Potter
5 31 Nick Barstad
6 78 Skylar Holzhausen
7 87 Colin Reffner
8 8 Chad Butz
9 52 Ricky Baker
10 77 Jonathan Eilen
11 76 Jason Weinkauf
12 5 Casey Johnson
13 43 Matt Kocourek
14 7 Paul Shafer Jr.
15 9 Derek Kraus
16 40 Jeremy Lepak
17 15 Dean LaPointe
18 38 Jeff Holtz
19 42 Brian Hakala
20 14 Austin Nason
21 39 Andrew Morrissey



Majeski’s Magic Year Continues in Marshfield Victory