In an exciting 50-lap feature for the Super Late Models at New Smyrna Speedway (FL), Ty Majeski outdueled Stephen Nasse in the closing laps to claim the victory on the fifth night of the 52ndAnnual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.


One night after spinning out of the lead off the front bumper of Harrison Burton, Majeski struck back and captured his first victory of Florida Speedweeks.


The win helped cure what had been a frustrating World Series thus far for the Wisconsin driver. Majeski fought the handling of his car all week, but his efforts resulted in a victory on Tuesday night.


“It’s been a struggle all week,” Majeski said on the FansChoice.TV broadcast. “It’s been a struggle with a car. We finally got it good enough to compete with these guys up front.”


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)The win came after a duel with Nasse in the closing laps of the race.  Majeski muscled his way around Nasse on a lap 47 restart in the 50-lapper to pick up his first win of the World Series.


“I knew if I could just stay even with him out of [turn] two,” Majeski said about the winning pass, “My car could stay even with him, my car could roll the bottom better off of three and four.”


Nasse settled for a second-place finish, pleased to bring his car back to the hauler clean after a tense, physical race.


“It was a lot of fun. A lot of hard, clean racing,” Nasse said.  “I enjoyed doing it with [Majeski]. At the end of the day, we have a clean race car.”


Majeski and Nasse leaned on each other throughout the final four laps, but Nasse did not feel cheated by Majeski’s efforts at the end of the race.


“He definitely used all of the real estate that he had, but that’s what you have to expect going into the last few laps,” Nasse said. “I wouldn’t have done it any different. I tried to pinch him the best I can, but I couldn’t get enough momentum.”


For the second night in a row, a late-race incident soured a strong run for Harrison Burton. Burton collided with the inside wall on the frontstretch after contact with Majeski. Burton and Nasse were in a side-by-side battle for the lead on lap 47 when Burton spun off turn four from the contact.


Burton was nonplussed about the incident, coming one night after a separate run-in with Majeski which took both out of contention for a win and led to pointed remarks from Majeski.


“I got dumped by the 91 (Majeski). I don’t know if it had to do with last night or not. Last night, I made a mistake and got in a little too hot. Honestly, I thought it was just racing last night. Then he goes on and talks crap about my mom and wrecks us. I’m not happy about that.


“Pretty crappy move,” Burton added.  “That’s all I’ve really got to say about it. I normally let my racing on the track settle things. That’s how I’ll continue, that’s what I’ll try to do, and that’s all I can do. That’ll piss him off more than anything else, just go out and beat him.”


Majeski insisted the incident was unintentional, and by no means a byproduct of last night’s incident.


“[Burton] got a little bit free there under [Nasse], I couldn’t check up in time,” Majeski explained. “I might have just touched him. I definitely didn’t mean to do that at all, it had nothing to do with last night, I want to make that clear.”


The Super Late Models return to New Smyrna Speedway tomorrow night, with a 35-lap sprint to the checkered flag. Trackside Now will be live at 1:30 P.M. with live updates of the action.


For on-demand coverage of Tuesday night’s racing, visit’s Trackside Now coverage presented by Riverhead Building Supply and Jerico Performance.


-By Zach Evans, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit:


World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing – Super Late Model Official Results

New Smyrna Speedway (FL) – February 13, 2018

Pos. #Driver
191Ty Majeski
251Stephen Nasse
322Sam Mayer
46Matt Wallace
59CJeff Choquette
612GDerek Griffith
79CDerek Kraus
820Anthony Sergi
99MBrad May
1032Tyler Dippel
1112JJoe Graf, Jr.
1215Gabe Sommers
1374Ryan Moore
142Darrell Gilchrist
1533Carter Stokes
1693David Russell
17112Steve Weaver
1812BHarrison Burton
1968Russ Shaw
2008Nicholas Naugle

Majeski Strikes Back to Capture First Win of Speedweeks