The 22nd running of the All Star 100 at the famed Rockford Speedway in Loves Park, Illinois had a first time winner as Ty Majeski joined an elite list.  But the 68-year-old facility, once again, gave more frustration than smiles for some of the competitors.


That frustration is nothing new to the high-banked quarter-mile oval as the phrase “rubbing is racing” is as normal as apple pie on the fourth of July.  It is something understood among the competitors who compete at Rockford, but still makes them shake their head and respect it at the same time.


Majeski had to rely on that “old school” method to make the winning move on Trent Snyder on lap 53.


The Seymour, Wisconsin driver was also the fast qualifier and started eighth.  He patiently worked his way to the front.  The defending series champ got by Chris Weinkauf for second on lap 36.


He would then chase down Snyder, who started on the outside of the front row, and would challenge for the top spot on lap 44.


On lap 53, Majeski got a run on the inside of Snyder coming out of turn two.  The pair drag raced into turn three and that’s where the contact happened.  Majeski would lean on Snyder in three and four and would come out as the new leader when the two hit the start/finish line.


Majeski pulled away from Snyder until the only caution of the race flew on lap 93 for Jason Weinkauf’s spin in turn three.


As the field took the green with seven laps to go, Snyder tried to get Majeski loose in the corners to challenge for the lead.  That battle only lasted a lap as Majeski fended off Snyder to pull away for the victory.


After the race, Snyder, the 2008 winner, felt that Majeski was just a little too aggressive to get the lead.


“I gave it all we had on the last restart.  Ty is a heck of a driver and had the best car for sure.  But if he just tried to pass us clean instead of door slamming me three times.  We both got crossed up and I didn’t want to wreck him,” said Snyder.  “Congrats to him, like I said he had the best car tonight.”


When asked if his aggressive move on the restart was in retaliation of the pass for the lead earlier, Snyder admitted to it.


“Yeah it was.  We were out front, all alone, and he didn’t even try passing me clean one time,” Snyder recalled.  “He got up behind and then door slammed me.  If that wouldn’t have happened, I wouldn’t have touched him at the end cause he had the best car all night.  It was a little retaliation, but I also wanted to win.”


In victory lane, Majeski said it was a typical Rockford pass.


“It is so hard to pass here and he (Snyder) was protecting the bottom a little bit so it was real hard for me to get a run,” Majeski said.  “He made a mistake and I got to his door, and I had to capitalize on that mistake.  Thankfully we were able to hold on for the win.”


Majeski adds his name to an elite list of past winners of the All Star 100.  A list that includes Dick Trickle, Mark Martin, Joe Shear, Bobby Allison, Al Schill, Butch Miller, Rich Bickle, Ross Kenseth and Erik Jones.


“This is really cool.  My first ever Big 8 Series win was here along with my first ever win in a full-size vehicle,” Majeski recalled.  “It was really cool to come back here as I haven’t been here since that race.  It was great to come back and prove that win wasn’t a fluke.


Austin Nason passed Chris Weinkauf in the late stages of the race to get a third place finish at his home track.


“We are pretty happy with third,” Nason said after the race.  “I think we had something for Ty, but we qualified second and hoped the invert would get us an outside starting spot, but we started on the inside and had to work our way up there.”


Ricky Baker rounded out the top five.


The ARCA Midwest Tour will be back in action on Friday, July 17th at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Illinois for the Wayne Carter Classic 100.


– Kevin Ramsell, Correspondent.  Twitter: @KevinRamsell






Pos Name Laps
1 91 Ty Majeski 100
2 88 Trent Snyder 100
3 14 Austin Nason 100
4 75 Chris Weinkauf 100
5 52 Ricky Baker 100
6 39 Andrew Morrissey 100
7 97 James Swan 100
8 78 Skylar Holzhausen 100
9 77 Jonathan Eilen 100
10 101 Curt Tillman 97
11 93 John Beinlich 97
12 22 Jeremy Spoonmore 95
13 76 Jason Weinkauf 91
14 24 Jim Olson 84
15 45 Rich Bickle 69
16 71 Eddie Hoffman 60
17 2B Michael Bilderback 58
18 30 Mark Hartline 15
19 55 Scott Koerner 11

Majeski Is an All-Star But Not Without a Lil Controversy