Majeski Gets a Win He’s Wanted for a Long Time

Despite winning four ARCA Midwest Tour titles in his young racing career, Ty Majeski had never been able to claim the coveted win in the Tour’s biggest crown jewel, the Dixieland 250. After five years of trying, the Seymour, Wisconsin driver finally came away with the $10,000 prize Tuesday night at his home track of Wisconsin International Raceway.


Using a combination of a fast car with a well-planned strategy, Majeski stormed past Austin Nason with 45 laps remaining and never looked back despite a number of restarts in the closing laps.


After taking the checkered flag and performing the traditional Polish Victory Lap, the former Kulwicki Driver Development Program champion dedicated the win to his family and home track fans.


“This is so cool! This is for all you fans, this is as close as it gets to my hometown,” Majeski said.  “I have a lot of friends and family, hometown fans here. Obviously wanted this race for a long time, this one has eluded us for sure. Just really proud of my guys, Toby, Chris, everyone on the team; Brad and Nancy my car owners.”


Majeski has had fast cars in the Dixieland 250 before, but this was the night that everything finally aligned for the No. 91 camp.


“We put it all together today. We had the correct strategy, we put fuel in when we needed too. It was a job well done by all.”


Perhaps the most frustrating part of the night for Majeski came during the final 25 laps of the race, with multiple cautions keeping challengers like John DeAngelis, Dan Fredrickson, and Austin Nason within visual range. Despite the challenges, Majeski seemed to get better with each restart.


“It can never be easy of course,” Majeski joked. “I would’ve loved it to go green there. But, it made it a good show for the fans and that’s what it’s all about, without all the fans we wouldn’t be here.”


Majeski, DeAngelis, Fredrickson, Nason, and Carson Kvapil filled out the top five. Derek Kraus, Paul Shafer, Bobby Kendall, Daniel Hemric, and Eddie MacDonald completed the top 10 at the checkered flag.


Race fans can watch the full on-demand pay-per-view broadcast of Tuesday’s race by clicking here.


The ARCA Midwest Tour resumes the push towards the 2019 championship a week from Friday on August 16 at Madison International Speedway (WI) with the Howie Lettow 100, where 2003 NASCAR Cup Series champion and 2019 Slinger Nationals winner Matt Kenseth is scheduled to make a run at the trophy.


-Story by: Connor Sullivan, Speed51 Northeast Editor – Twitter: @Connor51CT

-Photo credit:


Dixieland 250 Unofficial Results

1 91M Ty Majeski 250
2 7D John DeAngelis Jr. 250
3 36F Dan Fredrickson 250
4 14N Austin Nason 250
5 35K Carson Kvapil 250
6 9K Derek Kraus 250
7 7S Paul Shafer 250
8 11K Bobby Kendall 250
9 54H Daniel Hemric 250
10 17MA Eddie MacDonald 250
11 42P Dennis Prunty 250
12 4F Luke Fenhaus 250
13 9L Tim Lampman 250
14 47J Casey Johnson 249
15 32Y Brett Yackey 246
16 15S Gabe Sommers 242
17 45V Jeff VanOudenhoven 242
18 17G Grant Griesbach 236
19 45B Rich Bickle Jr. 214
20 5R Mike Reichenberger 212
21 9C Kyle Calmes 210
22 13B Andrew Brocker 172
23 39M Andrew Morrissey 151
24 44M Justin Mondeik 144
25 75W Chris Weinkauf 135
26 10M Andy Monday 126
27 52S Brent Strelka 112
28 28M Cory Manders 93
29 30V Pete Vandermolen 68


Majeski Gets a Win He’s Wanted for a Long Time