Kaukauna, WI – Seymour’s Ty Majeski snatched the lead from Chad Butz on a lap 4 restart and cruised to victory in the caution-filled 50 lap Scott Vanderloop Memorial White race at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday night.


Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster picked a good night to win his second late model feature of the season – on his sponsor Ken’s Sports night.


The highest car count of the year was present with 122 cars total, including 27 Super Late Models.


The Super Late Model feature was just two laps old when a Jesse Oudenhoven spin drew an amber. On the attempted restart several cars got collected in a melee coming out of turn four. Several cars were involved as the race was red flagged. The wreck sidelined a pair of heavy hitters in defending track champion Jeff Van Oudenhoven and defending Red, White and Blue champion Casey Johnson of Cambridge.


After a lengthy delay racing resumed with Green Bay’s Chad Butz leading with Neenah’s Lowell Bennett and Majeski in toe. Only two more circuits were complete until a John DeAngelis spin on the fronstretch drew another amber. On the restart Majeski motored around Bennett for second. Majeski quickly disposed of Butz one circuit later. The Roush-Fenway Development Driver pulled away from the pack and kept all challengers at bay as he picked up his first WIR feature flag of 2017. Bennett finished second a nearly a full straightaway behind Majeski. Butz turned in his best performance of the season to take third, fending off fast qualifier Bobby Kendall of Montello who settled for fourth. Freedom’s Kyle Calmes rounded out the top five finishers.


After the White race Kendall has the Red White and Blue points lead with 157 points over Kyle Calmes with 144.


The Late Model feature got off to a shaky start when on the opening circuit Two Rivers’ Brett Wenzel collided with Little Chute’s Evan Beattie on the backstretch. When racing resumed Nate Van Wychen wrestled the lead away from polesitter Tim Springstroh. Muenster and Markesan’s Jesse Bernhagen ran nose-to-tail in third and fourth and the quartet began to pull away from the field.


Muenster motored his way into second on lap seven and began slowly reeling in Van Wychen. Muenster stayed within two car lengths up until the halfway point. With six laps remaining Muenster inherited the lead when Van Wychen dropped out with mechanical woes. Bernhagen disposed of Springstroh for second and moved in to challenge Muenster for the lead. With a late caution Muenster successfully fended off Muenster who collected the victory. Bernhagen took second and took over the division’s points lead. Springstroh put a valiant effort in to get third – considering he was pulling double duty. Prior to the late model main Springstroh had battled his way into the super late model main by racing in the semi feature. He quickly dashed into his late model, strapped in and ran a second consecutive race. Appleton’s Bryan Monday and Travis Rodewald placed fourth and fifth, respectively.


Fremont’s Dylan Wenzel crossed the finished the street stock feature first, but was disqualified following post-race tech. The second place finisher, Two Rivers Andy Casavante was also disqualified. This awarded the victory to Kaukauna’s Andy Meyerhofer, Brillion’s Rachel Meyerhofer and Menasha’s Tony Wilz took second and third, respectively.


Appleton’s Kyle Quella led wire-to-wire in the caution free, sport truck feature. Neenah’s Jason Plutz, defending track champion Brett Van Horn of De Pere, rookie Bobby Wautier and Fond Du Lac’s Mike Byrge placed second through fifth, respectively.


Sheboygan’s Brody Rivest made the trip from the Lakeshore worthwhile. The veteran four cylinder racer capped the victory in the Sizzlin’ 4’s.


Appleton’s Cory Kemkes won the ¼ mile late model feature. The victory was his second of the season.


Kaukauna’s Randy Krueger wrapped up the evening by winning the Figure 8 feature.


Next Thursday July 20 will be Kurz Industrial Solutions Veterans night. All veterans from all branches of the military will be admitted free of charge. The INEX legends will make their first appearance of the 2017 season and July 20 will be a “Throwback Night” as adult admission prices will get slashed to just $10.You can check frrcracing.net for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.


SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Ty Majeski, Seymour; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Chad Butz, Green Bay; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Andy Monday, Appleton; Alex Stumpf, Brillion; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Pete Vandermolen, Oshkosh; John DeAngelis, Hubertus; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Travis Sauter, Prairie Du Sac; Jake Carpenter, Ashwaubenon; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Casey Johnson, Cambridge; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Cory Kemkes, Appleton; Michael Anthony, Appleton


-Wisconsin International Raceway Press Release. Photo credit: Speed51.com

Majeski Cruises to White Race Win at Wisconsin Int’l