Majeski Comes Full Circle With Milwaukee Mile Win

Races can be won by the driver with the fastest car.  Other times, a pit strategy pays off and a driver uses it to his advantage.


For Ty Majeski, it was the latter that got him to victory at the Milwaukee Mile Sunday afternoon with the ARCA Midwest Tour.

HIGHLIGHTS: ARCA Midwest Tour at Milwaukee

The reigning Snowball Derby champion took tires during a lap 30 caution and used the fresh rubber to charge through the field and took the lead just after halfway.  Just as final pit stops were set to commence, the rain came and the race was called with 19 laps to go.


“Sometimes, races go your way.  Sometimes, they don’t.  This one went our way.  We took a little bit of a risk on lap 30 looking at the radar, we came down and put some new right sides on and we were able to pass through the field pretty easily,” Majeski said.  “Thankfully it went our way, it might not have but we were certainly trying to manage out front just in case the race did go the rest of the way.”


As he was marching to the front, he was wary of the tire situation knowing he would have to hold off a flurry of drivers with fresh tires in the final laps.  He admitted in victory lane that he was unsure how the outcome would play out if the race went all 100 laps.

Knowing the situation, I was just trying to manage and not slip a tire.  It was a fine line between passing cars and saving tires.  I don’t know how the race would’ve turned out if it went the rest of the way, we probably wouldn’t have won.

With his win at Milwaukee, Majeski has now won at every asphalt track in the state of Wisconsin.  That even includes on the road course at Road America during a Trans Am race.  From his first races in a full-size race car at Madison, Dells and the now-defunct Columbus 151 Speedway, his career has come full-circle in the Badger State.


“This one checks off the list for me, we even won a Trans Am race at Road America so as far as pavement racetracks go in Wisconsin, this is the last one.  This is a testament to the team and all the people around me and all the great people that have touched these race cars and prepare them for me to get them as good as they are.  It means a lot for me and our team and we aren’t done yet.”


Gabe Sommers, Austin Nason, Sammy Smith and Carson Kvapil rounded out the top-five.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51/Ryan Nuttleman


ARCA Midwest Tour – Milwaukee Mile Results:


  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Gabe Sommers
  3. Austin Nason
  4. Sammy Smith
  5. Carson Kvapil
  6. Jesse Love
  7. LeVon VanDerGeest
  8. Travis Sauter
  9. Casey Johnson
  10. Mark Kraus
  11. Dalton Armstrong
  12. Griffin McGrath
  13. John DeAngelis
  14. Dillon Hammond
  15. Albert Francis
  16. Jonathan Eilen
  17. Paul Shafer Jr
  18. Andy Monday
  19. Cayden Lapcevich
  20. Jeff Van Oudenhoven
  21. Derek Kraus
  22. Justin Mondeik
  23. Steve Seligman
  24. Grant Griesbach
  25. Terry Schoppenhorst
  26. Bobby Reuse
  27. Rich Bickle Jr
  28. Curt Tillman
  29. Gregory Borchardt
  30. Andrew Brocker
  31. Ryan Farrell
  32. Dalton Zehr
  33. Luke Fenhaus
  34. Jeff Storm
  35. Harley Jankowsik

Majeski Comes Full Circle With Milwaukee Mile Win