One of Florida’s most prestigious short track racing events, the Florida Governor’s Cup, is once again upon us. The annual season-ending race at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) will be held on Sunday November 12 and is expected to draw some of the best Late Model racers in the nation to the Atlantic Coastline in Florida. This year’s entry list already has a selection of former race winners, accomplished champions and invaders who are looking to get their name on the Cup.


It should be no surprise that Roush-Fenway Racing development driver Ty Majeski is one of the favorites heading into the weekend, considering that the Wisconsin native has made the long trek south each of the last two seasons and come out on top. He looks to become the fourth driver to win three straight Governor’s Cups and the first to do it since Bobby Gill back in 1992.


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)One of his biggest challengers is another of the sport’s rising stars, 2017 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and New Smyrna World Series of Asphalt Racing champion Harrison Burton. While Burton’s fortunes at New Smyrna in February might be high, he is looking to add a Governor’s Cup win to his resume after a troublesome performance last November.


Forming a ferocious northern powerhouse is defending Snowball Derby champion and North Carolina transplant Christian Eckes who is looking to add another big win in the State of Florida to his resume.


Although the invaders will be tough to beat, the home guard is looking to get back on top in 2017, led once again by two-time Governor’s Cup winner David Rogers. At 63 years young, Rogers continues to be a threat to win every race out at New Smyrna and was the 2017 Super Late Model champion at the track.


Fellow Florida natives Brad May, Jessie Dutilly, Anthony Sergi, Dylan Bigley, Cody Lane and Brandon Thompson are also looking to put their names on the Cup for 2017.


On the other hand, Connor Okrzesik, and Austin Nason, who is doing double-duty in Pro Late Models, are just two more who are making the long trip to the Sunshine State in search of late-season glory.


The full list of current entries for the Florida Governor’s Cup can be found below.


Be sure to follow coverage of the Florida Governor’s Cup all weekend on


-By: Connor Sullivan, CT, MA, RI & Long Island Editor – Twitter: @Connor51CT

-Photo Credit:


Florida Governor’s Cup Current Entries

03 George Gorham Jr Winter Haven, FL
8 D J Hoelze Palm Harbor, FL
9 Brad May Oviedo, FL
11 David Rogers Orlando, FL
12 Harrison Burton Huntersville, NC
14 Austin Nason Roscoe, IL
14 Connor Okrzesik Grand Bay, AL
15 Christian Eckes Cornelius, NC
20 Anthony Sergi Oviedo, FL
27 Cody Lane Port Richey, FL
30 Jesse Dutilly Sarasota, FL
54 Brandon Thomson Seminole, FL
91 Ty Majeski Seymour, WI
128 Dylan Bigley Naples, FL

Majeski, Burton Highlight First Look at Governor’s Cup Entry List