Majeski Accepts Ultimate Challenge for Oktoberfest 200

Defending Oktoberfest champion Ty Majeski picked up where he left off in 2019 by setting fast time in ARCA Midwest Tour qualifying for Sunday’s Oktoberfest 200 at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.  He set a lap time of 18.540, just under .04 off the Super Late Model track record.


The four-time series champion rolled an 11 for the invert.  However, that is not where he will start tomorrow’s 200-lap finale.  Majeski accepted the “Ultimate Challenge” and will start shotgun on the 28-car field Sunday afternoon with an extra bonus on the line.  As of press time, the bonus sat at $6,200, raising his total potential payout to over $10,000 if he were to win.




After a subpar 2020 Oktoberfest weekend to this point, a fast time for the main event was just what the doctor ordered.


“I’m excited for it.  We haven’t run as good as we’ve wanted to this weekend so far, so it’s good for me and the team to get fast time and get the weekend headed in the right direction again,” Majeski told Speed51.  “I took the Ultimate Challenge to start in the back, $6,200 to start last and hopefully be in victory lane at the end.”


This is the first time a driver took up the Ultimate Challenge since Johnny Sauter did so in 2015.  Majeski had been turned off from the potential extra bonus in the past, opting to focus on winning the event.  Now with two Oktoberfest wins to his resume, it was an easy decision for him.


“They used to offer it years ago before we had won one and I wouldn’t do it until we won one of these Oktoberfest 200’s.  Now that I have, I’ll take it every time.”


2018 Oktoberfest champion Andrew Morrissey continued a strong weekend by going second quick in qualifying. Gabe Sommers, Skylar Holzhausen and Rich Bickle rounded out the top-five.  The top 16 qualifiers locked themselves into Sunday’s feature event on time.


The ARCA Midwest Tour points also had a little bit of a shakeup after qualifying.  Casey Johnson’s lead shrunk down to just eight points after qualifying 16th.  Sommers, Paul Shafer Jr, Jonathan Eilen and Justin Mondeik all made gains towards the points lead, with the top four separated by less than 30 points going into the finale.


The final day of Oktoberfest will be broadcasted live via a pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.TV.  Click here to purchase your ticket today.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51/Ryan Nuttleman


ARCA Midwest Tour – Oktoberfest Qualifying Results:


  1. Ty Majeski – 18.540
  2. Andrew Morrissey – 18.591
  3. Gabe Sommers – 18.653
  4. Skylar Holzhausen – 18.686
  5. Rich Bickle Jr – 18.690
  6. Jonathan Eilen – 18.707
  7. Dan Fredrickson – 18.829
  8. Justin Mondeik – 18.848
  9. Ryan Farrell – 18.874
  10. Dillon Hammond – 18.885
  11. Chad Butz – 18.916
  12. Jason Weinkauf – 18.929
  13. Bobby Kendall – 18.931
  14. Jacob Goede – 18.934
  15. Paul Shafer Jr – 18.946
  16. Casey Johnson – 18.951
  17. Michael Ostdiek – 18.958
  18. Johnny Sauter – 18.993
  19. Matthew Henderson – 19.002
  20. John DeAngelis Jr – 19.027
  21. Derek Kraus – 19.074
  22. RJ Braun – 19.141
  23. Brock Heinrich – 19.144
  24. Austin Nason – 19.152
  25. Dean LaPointe – 19.163
  26. Billy Mohn – 19.200
  27. Brady Bill – 19.261
  28. Brent Kirchner – 19.313
  29. Brent Yackey – 19.440
  30. Harley Jankowski – 19.469
  31. Brad Tilton – 19.655
  32. Andrew Brocker – 19.914

Majeski Accepts Ultimate Challenge for Oktoberfest 200