WINCHESTER, NH – Scott MacMichael stormed to victory Saturday, June 21, at Monadnock Speedway, becoming the fifth different driver this season to win a Sportsman Modified feature at the high-banked speedplant. MacMichael was one of three NASCAR Whelen All-American Series drivers to score his first win of the summer at Monadnock. Marshall Usher earned his first victory lap of the season in the Thunder Stock division, and Lightning Stock strongman Tim O’Shea was also a first-time winner.

On the same night that NEMA Midget ace Randy Cabral rocketed to victory in the NEMA Iron Mike Memorial Race. Super Stock strongman Tom Carey III won his sixth feature in as many weeks. Mike Stebbins again had his way in the Mini Stock main, earning his fifth victory of the summer, and Young Gun Cole Littlewood scored his second win this season. PJ Sturgios topped the NEMA Lites feature.

In the Sportsman Modified main, Brad Zahensky grabbed the early lead, with Scott MacMichael riding in his shadow. MacMichael seized the point on a lap three restart, then holding the top spot the final 27 laps to score his first-ever win in the speedway’s premier division.

Bill Kimball moved up to second on lap six, with Todd Patnode pulling up on his bumper a handful of laps later. Patnode, the winner of two events already this year, powered into second on lap 13, then chasing MacMichael the rest of the way before settling for the runner-up finish. Kimball, Keith Carzello, and Tyler Jarvenpaa rounded out the top five.

Jim Chambers led the first 20 laps of the NEMA Midget feature, with potent and powerful Randy Cabral reeling him in from his row-five starting spot and then patiently waiting for the opening he would find on lap 20 to take the lead and speed off to victory.

With Chambers completing his hard night’s work in second, John Zych Jr., Randy Bigelow, and Todd Bertrand completed the top five.

Jim Thompson grabbed the opening lap lead in the Super Stock feature, giving way to Nancy Muni-Ruot on lap two. Tom Carey III moved up to second on lap six, with Muni-Ruot then holding a commanding lead.

By lap 22, Carey was knocking on the leader’s door. A lap later, he darted under Muni-Ruot on the backstretch and then sped away to his sixth consecutive victory. Muni-Ruot was solid in second, with Dave Striebel coming home third. Tyler Leary and Alyssa Rivera rounded out the top five.

Mike Stebbins took the lead from Dana Shepard on lap 20 of the Mini Stock feature and then dashed off to his fifth win of the summer. Shepard, who held the point for 16 laps, was solid in second.

Joe Rogers, strong all night, came home third, with Kevin McKnight fourth, and Louis Maher fifth. Joel Monahan spun out of top-five finish on the last lap, while 2013 division champ Beth Adams headed pitside while running second on lap 12.

In the Young Guns 15-lapper, Cole Littlewood grabbed the lead from Dylan Morse on lap five and never looked back en route to his second win of the summer. Morse, strong all night, came home second, followed by Matt Kimball, Mike McGoldrick Jr., and Solomon Brow.

Marshall Usher led all the way in the Thunder Stock main to score his first win of the season. Henry Martin, second on the night, kept his string of top-three finished intact to maintain the slimmest of points leads over Usher. Dave Greenslit, Tyler Janovsky, and Paul Barnard rounded out the top five.

Tim O’Shea took the lead on lap two of the Lightning Stock feature from Hillary Renaud, and never looked back en route to his first win of the summer. But while never passed, O’Shea had little breathing room, with Kyle Boniface and Russ Hersey running nose-to-tail on his bumper the final five trips around the high banks.

Boniface stayed comfortably atop the points parade with his second place finish. Hersey came home third on the night, with Tim LeBlanc fourth, and Chris Davis fifth.

PJ Sturgois won the NEMA Lites feature. Kevin Hutchens was second, Scott Bigelow third, Ryan Krachun fourth, and Dan Cugini fifth.

This Saturday, June 28, Monadnock Speedway will host its annual Open Track Party and Heroes of Yesteryear Night. The Open Track Party will be held from 5 to 6 p.m., followed by a seven-division card of racing.

For more information, visit

Monadnock Speedway Results – June 21, 2014

Sportsman Modified: Scott MacMichael, Todd Patnode, Bill Kimball, Keith Carzello, Tyler Jarvenpaa, Trevor Bleau, Brian Chapin, JT Cloutier, Steve Fifield, Eric LeClair, Kim Rivet, Leslie Keyser, Nicki Ouellette, Brad Zahensky, Brett Gonyaw

Super Stocks: Tom Carey III, Nancy Muni-Ruot, Dave Striebel, Tyler Leary, Alyssa Rivera, James Thompson, Tyler Lescord, Bill Johnston

Mini Stocks: Mike Stebbins, Dana Shepard, Joe Rogers, Kevin Mcknight, Louie Maher, Julia Raymond, Cameron Sontag, Joe;l Monahan, Chris McTaggart, Ethan Marsh, Eric Pomasko, DJ Lazelle, Beth Adams, Justin Faford, Joe Collins

Lightning Stocks: Tim O’Shea, Kyle Boniface, Chris Davis, Pat Houle, Hillary Renaud, Eric Silvernale, Matt Somerville, Kris Kristolaitis, Zachary Garrow, Tim LeBlanc

Thunder Stocks: Marshall Usher, Henry Martin, Dave Greenslit, Tyler Janovsky, Paul Barnard, Randy McGee, Jason Barden, Caleb Cashman, Chris Lawrence, John Russell

Young Guns: Cole Littlewood, Dylan Morse, Matt Kimball, Mike McGoldrick, Solomon Brow, Michelle Leh, Alicia Springer, Bow Smith, Hailey Guy, Colton Smith, Devin Guy


-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Gary Dutton

MacMichael Fifth Different Mod Winner at Monadnock