Sophia, NC- Saturday night was Randolph County Night at Caraway Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series short track, with twin 40 lap races for the NASCAR Late Model Stock Cars highlighting the evenings events.

The Legends Division kicked the night off with Zane Smith bringing home the win in his number 66 machine. Michael Womack was 2nd, Brandon McKenzie 3rd, Ronnie Milroy 4th, and Jason Austin rounded out the top 5.

The U-Car division put on a great show as always with Jimmy Crigger taking the win over Sean Grant. Corey Rose, Jimmy Cooper, and Brian Melville finished out the top 5.

The Hornet division sent the familiar face of Tommy Raino in victory lane, just edging out Brian Melville for the win. Tim Dillon, Robert Burgess and Gary Poe were your top 5.

The Wildcat Division saw Brian Rose put on a dominating performance over runner up Tommy Isom, with Rose leading from the drop of the green flag all the way to the checkered. Don Alvares rounded out the field in 3rd.

The first of the twin 40 lap Late Model Stock race went 40 consecutive green flag laps, but that doesn’t mean there wasn’t some intense racing. Tommy Lemons Jr dominated the early laps, closely tailed by Robert Tyler and BJ Mackey, but problems in the closing laps forced Lemons Jr to come to pit road, surrendering the lead and the eventual race win to Mackey, Tyler was 2nd, Patrick Coleman 3rd, Mike Darne 4th, and Chris Hudspeth 5th. Ryan Wilson, Nathan Buttke, Annabeth Barnes, Gene Kepley, and Tommy Lemons rounded out the top 10.

The NASCAR Limited Late Model Stock were next on the agenda with a 30 lap feature.  Carl Auman had another strong run, leading early on before spinning and falling to the rear, leaving the race in the hands of Ryan Shattuck, who took the checkers, but was disqualified after refusing to accept a protest by Auman. This handed the win over to Ross (Boo Boo) Dalton, Mack Little was 2nd, Auman 3rd, Paul Wark 4th, and Jason Tuterow 5th. William Gunter, Amber Burchette, and Craig West rounded out the field.

The NASCAR Mini Stocks were next up, Ben Hanks started on pole and led the initial laps of the race, but a spin coming off of turn 4 spelled trouble for Hanks and sent him to the rear of the field. This set the stage for Tyler McDonald to take the lead and bring home the win in his number 24 Ford Mustang. Jason Tutterow was 2nd, Johnny Baker was 3rd, Mark Baker was 4th, and John Davis rounded out the Mini Stock top 5.

The final race of the night was the second of the twin 40 lap for the NASCAR Late Model Stock Cars. The field was inverted from the finishing order of race number one, which worked out perfectly for Robert Tyler and his number 88 car. Tyler took home the win, with Tommy Lemons Jr a close 2nd. BJ Mackey (race one winner) came home 3rd, Nathan Buttke was 4th, and Mike Darne finished out the top 5. Annabeth Barnes, Gene Kepley, Patrick Coleman, Brad Brinkley, and Chris Hudspeth were your top 10.

The Owners and Staff of Caraway Speedway would like to extend a big “Thank you to all of our loyal Drivers and Fans who make all this possible. Without each of you, we couldn’t have the great racing that we have here”. Everyone be sure to come out to the speedway on June 28th for our “Crash and Burn Night of Destruction” event featuring a Demolition derby, School bus race, tire race, trailer race, reverse race, and much much more!  Contact the speedway office at 336-629-5803 or look them up on the web at

Mackey & Tyler Each Win LMSC Features At Caraway