Lucas Oil Regular Outruns Mother Nature, Competition at 411

SEYMOUR, Tenn. (May 4, 2019) — There’s one thing for certain, none of us can control the weather. However, sometimes you can outrun Mother Nature and that’s exactly what occurred Saturday at 411 Motor Speedway.


With rain falling all around the East Tennessee region, track owner Mitch McCarter and officials knew if they expedited running of the racing program, there was a brief window (opening) that should allow time to complete the show before rain was forecast to move back in around 9 p.m. Consider it D-O-N-E, with the officials keeping activities quickly moving and the final checkered flag waving at 8:34 p.m.


Ryan King of Seymour captured the $1,200 Steel Head Late Model “Spring Shootout” victory, while Clyde Stanton of Knoxville recorded the Sportsman Late Model win.


Ryan Watson of Sevierville captured the Modified Street victory, while Lee Merritt of Knoxville recorded the Classic win. Josh Henry of Newport got the Street Stock victory, and Christopher Lewis of Lenoir City won the Front Wheel Drive feature.


Jordan Rodabaugh set fast-time in Steel Head Late Model qualifying at 14.540 seconds. Rodabaugh grabbed the lead on the start over Mack McCarter, Ryan King, Chase King and Matt Henderson, with David Crabtree and Layne Clifton closely following.


Ryan King, the 2014 Crate Late Model champion at 411 Motor Speedway is now competing full-time touring the country with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, and he was quickest in LOLMDS qualifying back the first weekend in April when the series made its first-ever visit to Tennessee’s Action Track.


Ryan King got up on the wheel to get around both McCarter and Radabaugh to take the lead. Halfway in the race on lap 15, Radabaugh and McCarter tangled to bring out the caution.


Back under green to the finish, Ryan King showed the way out front in winning over McCarter, Crabtree, Chase King and Rodabaugh.


The “Mule Hollow Missle” Clyde Stanton was fastest in Sportsman Late Model qualifying and he backed his speed up during the feature. Stanton grabbed the lead at the start and never looked back en route to capturing his third win of the season over Adam Mitchell, David Miley, Jed Emert and Jake Whitehead.


Lee Merritt, Mac Lockhart and Adam Engel paced the field throughout the 20-lap Classic feature. Lockhart gave it his best effort trying to pass Merritt on the final lap racing off the fourth turn, but he spun as Merritt went on to record his fifth win of the season. Merritt was chased to the checkered flag by Engel, Richie Overholser, Michael Millsap and Eli Keck.


Josh Henry, Josh Driskill and Steve Owens battled up front throughout the Street Stock feature before Driskill dropped out a lap from the finish. Henry captured his second win of the season over Owens, Brandon Johnson, Driskill and Caleb Byrd.


Ryan Watson recorded the Modified Street victory, while Christopher Lewis won the Front Wheel Drive feature.





1. Ryan King #30
2. Mack McCarter #71
3. David Crabtree #C5
4. Chase King #44
5. Jordan Rodabaugh #66
6. Matt Henderson #00
7. Layne Clifton #23
8. Jerry Moss #M23
9. Mitchell Childress #2
10. Rusty Webb #22
11. Johnny Ridings #31


1. Clyde Stanton #C11
2. Adam Mitchell #50
3. David Miley #71
4. Jed Emert #98
5. Jake Whitehead #116
6. Hunter Kerr #40H
7. Thomas Clark #41
8. Quincy Adams #32
9. Phillip Burchette #11


1. Ryan Watson #11
2. Bobby Petty #XP21


1. Lee Merritt #14
2. Adam Engel #J16
3. Richie Overholser #88
4. Michael Milsap #42
5. Eli Keck #8
6. Shane Taylor #20
7. Mac Lockhart #00
8. Hunter Graybeal #G22
9. Chris Nix #18
10. Shaun Sise #59
11. Will Carey  #16
11. Tim Bounds #11
13. Todd Beeler #J23


1. Josh Henry #25
2. Steve Owens #17
3. Brandon Johnson #B01
4. Josh Driskill #D00
5. Caleb Byrd #06


1. Christopher Lewis #09
2. Wesley Teffeteller #27


-411 Motor Speedway Press Release

-Photo credit: Todd Reinerio

Lucas Oil Regular Outruns Mother Nature, Competition at 411