The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series gets back in action this weekend with two events in the states of Tennessee and Kentucky. On Friday night, May 30th, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series ventures to the “World’s Fastest 1/3 Mile Dirt Track”, Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN for the running of the “Toyota Knoxville 50”. Following the event in TN, the LOLMDS series heads north on Interstate 75 to Florence Speedway in Union, KY on Saturday night May 31st for the 28th Annual running of the “Ralph Latham Memorial”. Both events will feature a complete show with Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and 50-lap $10,000-to-win main events.

“The Taz”, Tazewell Speedway, is one of the most exciting dirt tracks in the country and the LOLMDS event is the most anticipated event for the speedway. The “Toyota Knoxville 50” will see the stars and cars of the LOLMDS battle against some of the best local and regional racers in East Tennessee and Kentucky. John Blankenship of Williamson, WV won last year’s thrilling event. Fans will see eleven (11) second laps around the 1/3 mil bull ring with Scott Bloomquist holding the track record at 10.822. Support classes running with the LOLMDS at Tazewell Speedway include the Classics, Sportsman, 4-cylinders and Street Stock divisions.

On Saturday night, Florence Speedway will host the 28th Annual “Ralph Latham Memorial Race”, sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The event is in honor of the late Ralph Latham. Ralph was a three-decade Cincinnati area racing star that passed away in August of 1986 from cancer. Don O’Neal won this event in 2011 and 2012. Last year’s event was canceled due to rain on two occasions. Modifieds and Crate Late Models will run as support classes. For tickets and more information about this event, visit the track website at or call the track office at (859) 485-7591.

“The series is eager to visit the Tazewell and Florence Speedways this weekend. Both tracks and communities have some of the greatest and most loyal fans and are always extremely passionate about their favorite drivers. Some of the toughest local and regional racers at both tracks will give the series regulars a hand full to compete against this weekend. We look forward to working with the great staff at each track and putting on a great show for all the fans that attend this weekend”, stated Ritchie Lewis, Director, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN will lead the stars and cars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series into this weekend’s events. O’Neal, coming off his big crown jewel win last weekend at the Lucas Oil Show-Me 100, will be sporting the day-glow orange Keyser Manufacturing Point Leader Spoiler so fans can keep up with the series point leader throughout the event. O’Neal leads 3-Time LOLMDS Champion Jimmy Owens by 70 points in the chase for the series national championship. Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Francis and Eddie Carrier Jr., round out the top five in series point standings. Sixth through Tenth in series points includes: Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Brian Shirley and Dennis Erb Jr. Jason Hughes continues to hold a slim lead in the chase for the Dunn-Benson Ford rookie of the Year title on the series in 2014.

The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport is the host hotel for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for this weekend’s Ralph Latham Memorial and the Sunoco North/South 100 – Presented by Lucas Oil at Florence Speedway in August, as well as the “Whiskey City 50” at Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN also in August. To take advantage of the great rates that the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport has to offer, simply call 859-371-2233 and ask for In-House Reservations (to avoid being transferred off property). Once with the Reservationist, just request a room in the “Florence Speedway Ralph Latham Memorial” block, the “Florence Speedway North/South 100” block, or “Whiskey City 50 Lawrenceburg Speedway” block. Callers can contact Reservations directly by calling 859-746-5608.

For the latest breaking news about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the 2014 tour schedule, TV schedule, drivers, sponsors and all the information about the series, visit the official website at:

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Goes to TN/KY