Waycross, GA – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series recently capped off the 2015 season with the annual championship gala at Lucas Estate in Carmel, IN. During the course of the 2015 season, over 550 different drivers competed at least once on the tour, while averaging 42 entries per event.

Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA claimed his first national title, finishing 55-points ahead of Scott Bloomquist in the final championship standings. Davenport reached victory lane on twelve different occasions in 2015, finished in the top 3 nineteen times, along with twenty top 5 finishes, and twenty-three top 10 performances. Davenport became the fifth different champion since the national tour began in 2005.

In addition to his $75,000 in points fund earnings, other awards claimed by the 2015 national champion include: Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led ($2,000), Midwest Sheet Metal Points Leader Spoiler Challenge ($1,000), Simpson Most Top Five Finishes ($500), Sunoco Race for Gas ($3,000), Sunoco Show-Me 100 Bonus ($2,000), Wrisco Most Feature Wins ($1,000), and Dyer Top Rods (Set of Rods).


Two-time national champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN finished second in the 2015 championship standings. Bloomquist scored eight wins on the tour in 2015, finished in the top 3 seventeen times, along with twenty top 5 finishes, and twenty-four top 10 finishes. Bloomquist earned $500 for the Most Heat Race Wins – courtesy of Eibach Springs, the Miller Welders Most Time Awards ($500), and the highest finishing driver utilizing Penske Racing Shocks ($1,000).

Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, a three-time national champion, finished third in the 2015 championship standings. Owens concluded his 2015 campaign with one win, eleven top 3 finishes, twenty top 5 finishes, and twenty-five top 10 finishes. Owens also earned a $1,000 bonus for his second place finish in the Sunoco Race for Gas standings.

Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, the 2014 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series national champion, finished fourth in the 2015 championship standings. O’Neal claimed one win on the season, ten top 3 finishes, sixteen top 5 finishes, and twenty-four top 10 finishes in 2015. O’Neal was the Allstar Performer of the year and received $500 cash and a $500 product certificate from Allstar Performance for his efforts.

Rounding out the top 5 in the 2015 championship standings was four-time national champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL. Piloting the Dunn Benson Ford, Lucas Oil #1 for the first time since 2006, Pearson Jr. reach victory lane on three occasions, along with nine top 3 finishes, thirteen top 5 finishes, and twenty-two top 10 finishes.

Finishing sixth through eleventh in the 2015 championship standings were: Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, IL, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR, Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY, Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, WV, and Chris Brown of Spring, TX.

Brandon Sheppard claimed the Lucas Oil Products Rookie of the Year over Chris Brown. Sheppard claimed one win in 2015, along with six top 3 finishes, eleven top 5 finishes and twenty-four top ten finishes. In addition to his $10,000 in prize money, Sheppard received product certificates from: AR Bodies, BRODIX, C&R Racing, FAST Shafts, JRi Shocks, Keyser Manufacturing, Performance Bodies, QA1, and Wrisco Aluminum.

Other awards presented included:
ASi Racewear Crown Jewel Cup – Presented by DirtonDirt.com: Scott Bloomquist
Bad Boy Mowers TV Race Challenge – Presented by E3 Spark Plugs: Jonathan Davenport
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Year: Black Diamond Chassis
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Year: Durham Racing Engines
DirtonDirt.com Cash Clip of the Week: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year – Presented by Georgia Boot: Kevin Rumley
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Year: Dennis Erb Jr.
Mike Swims Award of Excellence: Carl Short

For the latest breaking news concerning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including the latest series standings, 2016 tour schedule, driver information, and more visit the official website at: www.lucasdirt.com.

Follow the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on your favorite Social Media outlets at: www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. In 2016, the LOLMDS will sanction 53 events in 19 states. The series is owned by the parent company Lucas Oil Products Inc. and receives national exposure through a TV package filmed, produced and edited by Lucas Oil Production Studios. LOLMDS events will be broadcast on four TV Networks including CBS, NBC Sports, CBS Sports Network and the MAVTV Motorsports Network. For more information about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series visit the official website at: www.Lucasdirt.com.

Owned and operated by Lucas Oil Products, MAVTV is a television network with its roots deep in the automotive world. MAVTV offers an unparalleled line-up of exclusive motorsports, that includes prestigious events such as the Chili Bowl, The AMA Pro Motocross series, the Lucas Oil Challenge Cup and NHRA Drag Racing. But MAVTV goes far beyond the national mainstream events and also covers multitudes of grassroots series’ from across the globe: Drag boats, sprint boats, drag racing, pro pulling, rally racing, drifting, dirt racing, ice racing and everything in between.

MAVTV also knows you don’t have to be a race fan to be an automotive enthusiast, which is why we have developed a package of automotive reality and custom build shows that is truly second to none. If it has a motor, it’s on MAVTV…MAVTV is THE motorsports network. To learn more about MAVTV go to: www.mavtv.com.

About Lucas Oil Products
Founded in 1989 by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Lucas Oil Products, Inc. has established itself as one of the fastest-growing lubrication product lines in the consumer automotive aftermarket, featuring a line of engine oils, greases, gear lubes, problem-solving additives, and car-care products. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil has established itself as a worldwide leader in the lubrication industry. Motorsports has always been part of the Lucas Oil culture and the cornerstone of the company’s marketing strategy. Such passion for motorsports has inspired Lucas Oil to sponsor many race teams, events and series at all levels, including, NHRA, IRL, ASCS, NASCAR, IHRA and many more. Lucas Oil has also taken ownership and operational control of a number of high profile racing properties, such as: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series, Lucas Oil Pro Pulling League, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Lucas Oil Modified Series, Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. and the Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, CA.

In 2007 Lucas Oil founded its own production house, Lucas Oil Production Studios, dedicated to producing high action motorsports television. Currently Lucas Oil Production Studios produces over 300 hours of original programming for networks such as CBS, CBS Sports, NBC Sports and MAVTV. More information about Lucas Oil Products, Inc. visit the company website at: www.lucasoil.com.

– Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series press release & photo

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2015 Season Recap