Just like the NFL and NCAA, the Speed51.com Short Track Draft presented by PFC Brakes has eligibility rules.  If a short track racer is eligible for the draft one year, that doesn’t necessarily mean they’re going to be eligible the next year.


If they turn 26 years old prior to April 1, if they lost their rookie status in any of NASCAR’s top-three series by the end of the 2016 season, or if they are scheduled to run more than 10 races in one of NASCAR’s top three series, they are no longer eligible.


The defending number-one pick from last year’s draft, Todd Gilliland, is also ineligible for two reasons. Gilliland will be making more than 10 starts in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series for Kyle Busch Motorsports, and also due to a rule that doesn’t allow the prior year’s top pick to enter the draft.


With those rules in place, a stout list of short track racers are no longer eligible for the 2018 Short Track Draft presented by PFC Brakes.


This year’s list of ineligible drivers is headlined by last year’s No. 11 pick Timmy Solomito.


After celebrating his 26th birthday in December, Solomito now exceeds the age requirement and is no longer eligible for the draft. Despite hitting the age limit, Solomito proved he still has what it takes behind the wheel with five NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victories and a second-place finish in in the championship standings last year.


Dalton Sargeant, who was picked two spots behind Solomito in last year’s draft, is also ineligible for this year’s Short Track Draft.


Sargeant recorded a trio of ARCA Racing Series wins on his way to finishing second in the championship standings one year ago.  That earned him a full-time ride in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with GMS Racing, thus he is no longer eligible for the Short Track Draft.


Myatt Snider, last year’s 51st pick in the Short Track Draft, joins Sargeant on the list of drivers graduating to the full-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series ranks.  Snider will driver full-time for ThorSport Racing in 2018, which makes him ineligible for the draft.


Highlighting the remaining list of drivers “too old” to enter the draft is 26-year-old Chad Finley, an ARCA Racing Series winner in 2017.  Finley was the 21st pick in last year’s Short Track Draft but celebrated his 26th birthday on March 17.


Dirt Modified star Erick Rudolph, Late Model and NASCAR K&N Pro Series East driver Brandon McReynolds and 2017 Kalamazoo Klash winner Tyler Roahrig are also among those who are now 26 years old and ineligible for the Short Track Draft on Speed51.com.


The 2018 Short Track Draft presented by PFC Brakes will begin on Thursday, April 26 at 5 p.m. ET with the release of the number-one pick.


After a night of rest, the number-two pick in the draft will be revealed on Friday, April 27 at 9 a.m.  Picks 3-10 will be released on Friday evening at 5 p.m.


The 2018 Short Track Draft will be on pause during the weekend before picks 11-25 are released on Monday, April 30 at 5 p.m. The remaining top-51 picks will be released Tuesday, May 1 at 5 p.m. ET.


Follow #51Draft on Twitter for the latest pre-draft coverage including scouting reports, videos and more.


-By Brandon Paul, Speed51.com Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51

List of Drivers Ineligible for 2018 Short Track Draft