Danny Jackson and Nick Clemens appeared poised to settle the 77-lap ICAR Top Speed Modified feature at Dixie Motor Speedway (MI) between themselves.  That was until a restart with 25 laps to go, when Travis Eddy powered by Clemens on the outside to take over the lead and the win.


Jackson started up front courtesy of the invert, and he stayed out there for much of the race until Clemens made the move off turn two to take over the lead with 39 laps to go.


Clemens and Jackson continued to battle as Clemens didn’t pull away.  Jackson got another shot at Clemens on restart with 35 laps remaining.


However, that battle came to an end just two laps later when Jackson went for a spin in turn two as he tried to hold off a hard-charging Eddy.  Jackson was able to get his car pointed in the right direction so the race stayed green with Clemens and Eddy left to settle it among themselves.


Eddy closed right to the back of Clemens with 26 laps to go, but a lapped car interfered with his progress causing him to lose about six car lengths to Clemens.


Eddy claimed the checkered flag at Dixie Motor Speedway. (Speed51.com photo)

Eddy claimed the checkered flag at Dixie Motor Speedway. (Speed51.com photo)

In most races something like that could have ended any chance Eddy had at winning.  But not in this race.


The Top Speed Modifieds had a competition caution at lap 50 that allowed teams to refuel and make any adjustments to their cars for 10 minutes.


That break put Eddy right alongside Clemens on the restart,  and that was all he needed as he cleared Clemens off of turn two and drove away.


“We made a couple of adjustments there at the break and we weren’t sure if they were going to work or not,” said Eddy in victory lane.  “I sailed it off into turn one and it stuck.”


Eddy beat Clemens to the checkered flag by about eight car lengths to take the win.  Brian Nester, Donny Matteson and Ed Dourte Jr. completed the top five.


Highlights from Friday night’s ICAR Top Speed Modified Tour 77-lap feature can be found in the coming days on the 51 Network on Speed51.com powered by JEGS.  To subscribe to the 51 Network, click here: http://speed51.com/racing-videos/


-By Rob Blount, Speed51.com Northeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com


ICAR Top Speed Modified Tour

Dixie Motor Speedway, Birch Run, Michigan

Unofficial Results

1 78 Travis Eddy
2 34 Nick Clemens
3 11 Brian Nester
4 12 Donny Matteson
5 69 Ed Dourte Jr.
6 12n Josh Nester
7 05 Greg Fullarton
8 13 Sean McPherson
9 14 Tim Burkett
10 61s Brad Springer
11 93 Doug True
12 5 Danny Jackson
13 81 Dominique Van Wieringen
14 30 Mike Luberd
15 01 Robby Johnson
16 12x Mike Occhipinti
17 7 Jerry Hammond
18 M15 Chris Stearns
19 4 Joe Morrisett Jr.
20 24 Josh Ware
21 5 Bobby Heyink
22 12 Dave Nester
23 24JR Buddy Gray
24 331 Trei Duebel


Late Restart Gives Eddy Chance He Needed at Dixie Motor Speedway