Late Model Stars File Entries for Florida Governor’s Cup

The 54tth Annual Florida Governor’s Cup 200 at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) will be held this Saturday, November 9th. Recently, track officials released the first list of pre entriess for the blue-ribbon event.


Leading the list of expected entries is Super Late Model star Bubba Pollard, of Senoia, Georgia. Pollard enters this year’s Florida Governor’s Cup driving David Rogers’ famous No.11. Though Pollard has never won the Governor’s Cup, he enters fresh off a Pro Late Model victory at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville and a long history of victories at New Smyrna Speedway.


2018 World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Champion Stephen Nasse has entered the event as well, and while his Jett Motorsports teammates haven’t pre-entered, they’re expected to be at New Smyrna as well.


Local racers Brad May, Anthony Sergi, and Doug Elliot have all pre-entered. May will look to rebound from a 15th place finish in the Hart to Heart 100 while Sergi looks to replicate his top five finish.


Wisconsin invaders John DeAngelis and Gabe Sommers will make their way south with the Wimmer Motorsports crew looking to capitalize on some late season momentum heading into the 52nd Annual Snowball Derby.


Rattler 250 winner Giovanni Bromante will win the award for farthest traveled heading into New Smyrna. He will look to back up his third-place finish in the Hart to Heart 100 earlier this year.


In addition to the 200-lap Super Late Model feature, the Pro Late Models will race 50 laps in the “Prelude to the Cup.” Early entries include NASCAR Drive for Diversity driver Brooke Storer, ARCA Menards Series regular Mason Diaz, and New Smyrna Speedway Pro Late Model track champion Daniel Dye. Many more entries are expected as many of the track’s local drivers have not yet entered.


Driver’s planning to compete during the Florida Governor’s Cup Weekend are encouraged enter at the following link:

Governor’s Cup Entries as of 11/4/2019

Super Late Models

7 John DeAngelis
7 Doug Elliott
9 Brad May
11 Bubba Pollard
15 Gabe Sommers
20 Anthony Sergi
22H Brandon Herbert
51 Stephen Nasse
81 Giovanni Bromante

Pro Late Models

3 Michael Trocki
5 Brooke Storer
17 Blaise Hetznecker
24 Mason Diaz
43 Daniel Dye
51 Hayden Sprauge
54 Zach Harris
55 Christian Rose

– Story by Allick Jorgensen, National Correspondent – Twitter: @AJorgensen24

– Photo Credit:

Late Model Stars File Entries for Florida Governor’s Cup