Last-Lap Throwdown Decides Millbridge $1,000 Showdown

In an incredible finish to start off the QRC Speed51 Open presented by HMS Motorsport at Millbridge Speedway (NC), Chase Majdic passed Caden Kvapil and held off Kyle Larson on the final lap to take the $1,000 prize in the Cook Out Showdown.


Entering the final lap, Kvapil had led all 24 laps of the feature from the pole.  However, Majdic and Larson closed in on Kvapil over the final laps, setting the stage for the last-lap duel.


From there, Majdic slid past Kvapil in turns one and two after taking the white flag, then held off Kvapil and a hard-charging Larson for the win in a side-by-side finish with the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup star.


“It feels really good,” Majdic said in victory lane.  “I hadn’t been in the car for a while, so to come out here and get a win with these guys feels amazing.”


Majdic sensed an opportunity to capitalize entering the final lap and took advantage.


“I could tell [Kvapil] was getting worn out,” said Majdic.  “I was getting tired.  I was just trying to hang on.  He kind of bobbled down here, I don’t know what happened.  That was my shot, and we went for it.”


After spinning on the final lap, Kvapil fell to ninth in the final running order. 


“I saw the 42 of Chase Majdic dive down to the inside,” said a disappointed Kvapil.  “Coming to the white, I knew he was going to try a big slide-job.   I tried getting a good run on the top and drive it harder on the final lap.  I ended up jumping the cushion and getting loose coming out of the corner.  He got a slide job. 


“I tried to cross him over and he blocked me and had nowhere to go.  He ended up winning it.”


Still, Kvapil enters tomorrow’s Speed51 Open with confidence after a strong run.


“It really gives me a lot of confidence going into tomorrow.  I led every lap except for the last one.  It really gives me a lot of confidence.  I think I’m going to do really good tomorrow.


Larson ultimately missed out on the victory by the slimmest of margins, but still enjoyed his appearance in the Outlaw Kart ahead of tomorrow’s $5,151-to-win event.


“I felt really good there, that feature,” said Larson.  “I just didn’t do a good job on restarts.  I’d spin my tires and allowed Chase to get to my inside, and that was kind of the race after that.  It was fun to race like that. It was a pretty good track, hopefully it’s like that tomorrow.


“I knew [Majdic’s] kart was a rocket,” said Larson about the last lap.  “I should have just drove bottom, maybe, but I’m not sure.  It was a fun race.  Caden was really fast.  One time I slid him and the caution came out.  Then on the restart, I slid him a couple of times and the caution came out.”


Race fans who missed Tuesday’s Cook Out Showdown can re-live the action as well as watch tomorrow’s Speed51 Open with one purchase of Speed51’s pay-per-view ticket for the two-night event.  Click here to purchase your video ticket now.


RESULTS: QRC Speed51 Open presented by HMS Motorsport; Cook Out Night; May 21, 2019

Beginner Box Stock Heat #1 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Jaxon Merrifield, 2. Kolson Nelson, 3. Grayson Price, 4. Colt Johnson / 5. Karter Beattie, 6. Adrian Richard, 7. Jonathan Paulk.

Beginner Box Stock Heat #2 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Brody Snyder, 2. Carson Allen, 3. Caleb Scarborough, 4. Brayden Montieth / 5. Brody Measmer, 6. Chase Johnston.

Beginner Box Stock Heat #3 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Davin Roberts, 2. Jordan Sherwood, 3. Landon Trent, 4. Landon Davis / 5. Shane Contarino, 6. Cole Thomas.

Box Stock Heat #1 (8 laps, three transfer): 1. Biscuit Williams, 2. Landon Totherow, 3. Colt Currie / 4. C.J. Sweatt, 5. Hunter Kohn, 6. Natalie Richards, 7. Morgan Burbas.

Box Stock Heat #2 (8 laps, three transfer): 1. Nathan Meendering, 2. Landon Sartain, 3. Kynzer Flynn / 4. Aiden Price, 5. Aidan Turner, 6. Talon Pelfrey.

Box Stock Heat #3 (8 laps, three transfer): 1. Sam Corry, 2. John Kidwell, 3. Jett Rolewicz / 4. Cassidy Keitt, 5. Tyler Johnson, 6. Cameron Cox.

Box Stock Heat #4 (8 laps, three transfer): 1. Coen McDaniel, 2. Ryan Zima, 3. Dallas Griggs / 4. Chubbs Shockley, 5. Aiden Garcia, 6. Kevin Horner.

Box Stock B-Main (12 laps, four transfer): 1. Aiden Price, 2. Cassidy Keitt, 3. Aidan Turner, 4. Hunter Kohn / 5. Aiden Garcia, 6. C.J. Sweatt, 7. Cameron Cox, 8. Natalie Richards, 9. Morgan Burbas, 10. Kevin Horner, 11. Tyler Johnson, 12. Talon Pelfrey.

Open Class Heat #1 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Caden Kvapil, 2. Chase Majdic, 3. Carson Kvapil, 4. Brent Crews / 5. Nick Brand, 6. Branson Dils, 7. Kyle Beattie, 8. Anissa Curtice, 9. Lucas Sipka.

Open Class Heat #2 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Chase Johnson, 2. Max Mittry, 3. Tom Hubert, 4. Carly Holmes / 5. Jett Hays, 6. Tanner Brown, 7. Gray Leadbetter, 8. Maria Cofer, 9. Demo Mittry.

Open Class Heat #3 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Nick Hoffman, 3. Nick O’Dell, 4. Jesse Colwell / 5. Adam Welch, 6. Tyler Letarte, 7. Renee Angel, 8. Andrew Wehrli (DNS).

Open Class Heat #4 (8 laps, four transfer): 1. Max McLaughlin, 2. Ethan Mitchell, 3. Colby Copeland, 4. Dominic Gorden / 5. Joey Robinson, 6. Zach Daum, 7. Jerrod Huisenga, 8. Russell Ludwig.

Open Class B-Main (12 laps, four transfer): 1. Joey Robinson, 2. Jett Hays, 3. Tanner Brown, 4. Anissa Curtice / 5. Tyler Letarte, 6. Kyle Beattie, 7. Nick Brand, 8. Renee Angel, 9. Russell Ludwig, 10. Zach Daum, 11. Demo Mittry, 12. Adam Welch, 13. Jerrod Huisenga, 14. Branson Dils, 15. Gray Leadbetter, 16. Lucas Sipka, 17. Maria Cofer (DNS), 18. Andrew Wehrli (DNS).

Beginner Box Stock B-Feature (12 laps): 1. Shane Contarino, 2. Brody Measmer, 3. Adrian Richard, 4. Cole Thomas, 5. Chase Johnston, 6. Jonathan Paulk.

Beginner Box Stock A-Feature (15 laps): 1. Brody Snyder, 2. Jaxon Merrifield, 3. Kolson Nelson, 4. Davin Roberts, 5. Caleb Scarborough, 6. Carson Allen, 7. Jordan Sherwood, 8. Grayson Price, 9. Landon Trent, 10. Colt Johnson, 11. Brayden Montieth, 12. Karter Beattie, 13. Landon Davis.

Box Stock A-Feature (15 laps): 1. Biscuit Williams, 2. Sam Corry, 3. Landon Sartain, 4. Dallas Griggs, 5. Ryan Zima, 6. Cassidy Keitt, 7. Aiden Price, 8. Colt Currie, 9. Nathan Meendering, 10. Aidan Turner, 11. Coen McDaniel, 12. Hunter Kohn, 13. Jett Rolewicz, 14. Landon Totherow, 15. John Kidwell, 16. Kynzer Flynn.

Cook Out Open Showdown (25 laps, $1,000 to win): 1. Chase Majdic, 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Nick Hoffman, 4. Max Mittry, 5. Chase Johnson, 6. Colby Copeland, 7. Joey Robinson, 8. Nick O’Dell, 9. Caden Kvapil, 10. Tom Hubert, 11. Jesse Colwell, 12. Anissa Curtice, 13. Dominic Gorden, 14. Brent Crews, 15. Jett Hays, 16. Tanner Brown, 17. Carson Kvapil, 18. Carly Holmes, 19. Ethan Mitchell, 20. Max McLaughlin.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: photo

Last-Lap Throwdown Decides Millbridge $1,000 Showdown