Last-Lap Slugfest Decides $10,000 Winner at Cherokee

The first major short track race since the COVID-19 crisis saw two months’ worth of drama folded into one 60-lap event during Saturday’s Palmetto Classic at Cherokee Speedway.  Multi-time ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series champion Casey Roberts dominated throughout the event, but it was Brandon Overton taking $10,000 out of Roberts’ hands during a wild final lap.


“Big Sexy” would go on and win the race after leading only the final lap, while Roberts’ race ended when he hit a tractor tire in turn three while making a last-ditch effort to regain the lead.


Overton addressed the last-lap move in victory lane after the race, chalking it up to a racing deal on the final lap with $10,000 on the line.


“I’m sure everybody’s going to say I wrecked him but he missed the bottom.  It’s ten damn grand, you know what I mean?” Overton said on the broadcast.  “He missed the bottom and I stuck it in there and we met, he was coming back down the hill and I’m not going to let off.  I hate we got together, I’m sure he’s pissed off.  I don’t know what you do.”


“I don’t want to see somebody lead the whole race and lose it on the last lap, but what do you do?”


Roberts started on the front row for the 60-lap main event and took the lead from polesitter Anthony Sanders shortly after the start of the race.  He led throughout the race, holding off charges from several drivers in the process.  However, he missed the inside line going into turn one and opened the door for Overton on the final lap, a mistake that ultimately costed him $10,000.


Roberts respectfully declined to comment on the incident when approached by Speed51.


Kyle Strickler, Derrick Ramey, and Zack Mitchell rounded out the top five in the race, which was held with no spectators due to COVID-19 restrictions.


Click here to watch a replay of the Palmetto Classic at Cherokee Speedway.  Stay tuned to Speed51 for other information following Saturday’s event.


Palmetto Classic Race Results:

  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Chris Madden
  3. Kyle Strickler
  4. Derrick Ramey
  5. Zack Mitchell
  6. Jonathan Davenport
  7. Ross Bailes
  8. Tyler Erb
  9. Logan Roberson
  10. Allen Weisser
  11. Michael Brown
  12. Pearson Lee Williams
  13. Casey Roberts
  14. Anthony Sanders
  15. Cla Knight
  16. Darrell Lanigan
  17. Kyle Hardy
  18. Ethan Wilson
  19. Corey Gordon
  20. Christian Thomas
  21. Tim Vance
  22. John Henderson
  23. Austin Kirkpatrick
  24. Dalton Polston
  25. Jeff Smith
  26. Jason Miller


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3
-Photo Credit: Speed51/Mojo Photos

Last-Lap Slugfest Decides $10,000 Winner at Cherokee