Last-Lap Pass Crowns First-Time FASTRAK Winner

Layton Sullivan scored redemption in the form of his first career FASTRAK Racing Series win on Saturday night at Toccoa Raceway (GA).  The victory came in dramatic fashion, passing David McCoy on the final lap of the 40-lap feature to take the checkered flag first.


The decisive pass came as McCoy and Sullivan battled each other for the top spot while also trying to work their way around Matt Glanden to place him one lap down.  Sullivan maneuvered to the inside of McCoy during the battle, using Glandon as a pick to move into the lead exiting turn two on the final lap.


Sullivan felt he had the speed to contend for a victory in the race, but needed an opportunity to get to the front.  When the opportunity presented itself, he pounced.


“I hung with him the whole race,” said Sullivan in victory lane.  “I didn’t let him get away.  I felt just as good as he was, he was just in front.”


McCoy, already a winner on the night in Toccoa’s weekly Limited Late Model division, was disappointed to be held up by a lapped car during the battle, but tipped his cap to Sullivan for a clean battle to the finish.


“Congratulations to this cat, he drove me clean as hell,” said McCoy.  “Just lapped car didn’t show no respect, and that’s his prerogative.  What goes around, comes around.  But like I said, I’m not taking anything from [Sullivan].


“We showed up and they knew we were here. This deal came together really quick. We led 39 and a half [laps]. It’s hard to swallow, but I’m happy to be here.”


The victory was a redeeming one for Sullivan, with the circumstances coincidentally mirroring one of his most bitter defeats.  During the FASTRAK Racing Series feature just over one year ago at the USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway, Sullivan was leading at the white flag, but a flat tire snatched away his shot at victory, with Carson Ferguson taking the win.


“It was a heartbreaker last year in Virginia,” said Sullivan.  “This definitely makes up for it.”


McCoy finished second in the event, followed by Frankie Beard.  Matt Long and Nick Schlager rounded out the top five.


Several contenders were taken out early in a major accident on lap six, after Benji Hicks collected the outside wall.  Hicks, Corey Almond and Sylvan Schuette did not continue following the accident, with Hicks taking the hardest hit.  All drivers walked away from the incident.


The FASTRAK Racing Series’ next scheduled race is July 11 at Friendship Motor Speedway (NC).  Stay tuned to Speed51, the Official Video Home of the FASTRAK Racing Series, for continued coverage of the series and updates throughout the 2020 season.


Race fans who missed Saturday’s FASTRAK season opener can click here to watch highlights from Saturday’s race, or click here to watch an on-demand replay of Speed51’s broadcast presented by JEGS.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 photo


FASTRAK Racing Series Season Opener Unofficial Results

Toccoa Raceway – June 27, 2020


  1. Layton Sullivan
  2. David McCoy
  3. Frankie Beard
  4. Matt Long
  5. NIck Schlager
  6. Michael Brown
  7. Ricky Smith
  8. Matt Glanden
  9. Justin Wofford
  10. Greg Parton
  11. Colby Quick
  12. Carson Ferguson
  13. Benji HIcks
  14. Corey Almond
  15. Sylvan Schuette

Last-Lap Pass Crowns First-Time FASTRAK Winner