ORRVILLE, Ohio — Elk Grove, California’s Kyle Larson became the first repeat winner of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by C&R Racing on Monday night at Wayne County Speedway, leading all 30 circuits to claim his second $5,000 top prize in three days, bumping his career-win total to three at Wayne County Speedway; eight in total against Tony Stewart’s All Stars.

Larson, now a back-to-back winner at “Orrville’s Historic Oval” during Ohio Sprint Speedweek competition, earned his Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 victory from the outside-front row, getting the early jump on fellow California native Gio Scelzi, and Ohio favorite, the “Wild Child” Jac Haudenschild.


“We weren’t very good in our heat race, but Paul Silva made some adjustments and we were much better in the dash,” Kyle Larson said, driver of the Brandt/Priority Aviation/Eneos/No. 57 sprint car. “It’s really important to make the dashes. Not only does that put you closer to the front in the main, but it also gives you more access to the track so you can try and learn something. Hats off to Paul (Silva) and this entire team. He wasn’t too happy about last night, but he’s incredibly smart and keeps me going in the right direction.”


Utilizing the very topside of the speedway, Larson maintained a blistering pace during his campaign at the front of the field, very rarely having to deal with lapped traffic as four cautions, two of which resulting in red flag conditions, would keep the field in check.


Larson’s closest call of the main event occurred with just a handful of circuits remaining. Former Wayne County Speedway track champion, Andrew Palker, was beginning to reel in Larson as the front-runners entered traffic. Setting up Larson for a last-ditch effort takeover, Palker attempted to drive underneath Larson at the exit of turn four on lap 29, and again at the entrance of turn one on lap 30. Larson’s momentum proved to be too strong, holding on to score the Speedweek triumph.


Andrew Palker drove on to finish second during the 30-lapper, followed by recent Attica Raceway Park winner, Paul McMahan; Lemoore, California’s Carson Macedo; and Norman, Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell.


Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by C&R Racing will continue on Tuesday evening, June 19, with a visit to Sharon Speedway in Hartford. Pit gates will swing open at 3 p.m. on Tuesday afternoon, followed by the mandatory All Star meeting at 5:30 p.m. All Star hot laps are scheduled to hit the speedway for the first time at 6:20 p.m. Those seeking additional news and notes should visit Sharon Speedway live on the Web at www.sharonspeedway.com.


-All Star Circuit of Champions Press Release

-Photo credit: Paul Arch

Larson Becomes First Repeat Winner of 2018 Ohio Sprint Speedweek