Large Field of Super Late Models Ready to Battle at Tucson

After two months to rest and rebuild, the Super Late Model stars of the west are ready to hit the pavement for the first time in 2020. Tucson Speedway will once again bring the fast and the bold to the heart of the Arizona desert to race for the first trophy of the new year, plus a $10,000 pay day in the 7th Annual Chilly Willy 150 this Friday to Sunday, January 24-26.


While the Super Late Model entry list continues to build, the field has already swelled to 28 strong, ready to go at it. Out of those drivers, 26 will look to be the seventh different winner in the race’s short, but already rich history. Two however, will be looking to become the first to repeat. Chris Eggleston is back for the first time since his victory in 2018, looking to back up his win two years ago. Inaugural Chilly Willy winner Dustin Ash is also back and looking to be the first to pull the feat himself.


Among those looking to stop a possible repeat are the Tucson home track drivers, who are looking to set the tone before beginning the chase for a track title later this year. 2019 Tucson SLM champion Brandon Farrington leads the charge along with runner-up Kole Raz. Both drivers showed muscle all throughout 2019, winning five points races apiece.


New Mexico driver Vanessa Robinson was the only driver not named Farrington or Raz to visit the winner’s circle during the 2019 regular season at Tucson.  Now, she looks to do the same come Sunday. Fellow home trackers Paul Banghart, Dane Jorgenson, and Brandon Schilling will be just a few looking to do the same.


The list of invaders is also building, with Kody Vanderwal looking to add to his two NASCAR K&N Pro Series West victories at the track in 2018.  It will be a full family outing as father Rudy Vanderwalis also throwing his name in the hat. With drivers such as Luke Hall, Mark Neff, Eric Holmes and Trent Phillips, just to name a few, also in the hunt, it is shaping up to once again be a tight and competitive field.


The latest entry list for the race can be viewed below.


For more information on the Chilly Willy 150, visit


-Story by: Connor Sullivan, Speed51 Northeast Editor – Twitter: @Connor51CT

-Photo credit: Speed51


Chilly Willy 150 Pre-Race Entry List (As of Jan. 20)

Driver Car # City/State
Michael Egurola 2 Tucson, AZ
Dane Jorgenson 6J Tucson, AZ
Trent Phillips 6P Hemingford, NE
Bryce Bezanson 7 Snohomish, WA
Clint Habart 09 Cranbrook, BC Canada
Dustin Walters 10F Fortuna, CA
Dustin Ash 11 Las Vegas, NV
Andy Sole 20W Marysville, WA
Brandon Schilling 20S Tucson, AZ
Kole Raz 21R Lake Oswego, OR
Eric Holmes 21H Manteca, CA
Chris Eggleston 22E Thornton, CO
Paul Banghart 22B Tucson, AZ
Curtis Lansing 23 Tucson, AZ
Vanessa Robinson Las Cruces, NM
Brandon Farrington 25 Tucson, AZ
Rudy Vanderwal 34 La Salle, CO
Robb Touchette 35 Lake Stevens, WA
Jeff Hillock 36J Cedar Hills, UT
Luke Hall 36L Ferndale, CA
Mark Neff 42N Berthoud, CO
Lance Elliott 42E Laramie, WY
Darrell J Stewart 42S Arvada, CO
Kody Vanderwal 43 La Salle, CO
Stephen Blankenship 47 Tenino, WA
John Lashley 55 Tucson, AZ
Brandon Carlson 81C Victoria BC, Canada
Darrell Midgley 81M Sidney, BC
Austin Thom 93 Dundee, OR

Large Field of Super Late Models Ready to Battle at Tucson