Oxford, Maine – Reid Lanpher of Manchester wasn’t planning a trip to Oxford Plains Speedway this weekend, but weather postponements and a rescheduled Sunday night Budweiser Championship Series program offered up an opportunity not only to get some seat time in his EJP Racing Super Late Model, but also prepare for the 43rd HP Hood Oxford 250, coming up on Sunday, August 28 at 1:30 p.m.


Lanpher, runner-up in last year’s HP Hood Oxford 250, picked up a confidence-boosting win from the front row in the 50-lap Super Late Model race, topping the card at the historic Route 26 oval track. Lanpher prevailed in an early battle versus polesitter Dave Farrington, Jr., of Jay.


Bobby Timmons of Windham provided stout competition for Lanpher, making several attempts to get alongside the eventual winner before claiming runner-up honors in front of Farrington. Corey Bubar of Windham and South Paris racer Shawn Knight rounded out the top five.


Lanpher becomes the 14th winner in 15 Budweiser Championship Series Super Late Model 50-lappers this season at Oxford Plains Speedway. Only reigning track champion and current championship point leader Timmy Brackett of Buckfield has won twice this season.


Matt Dufault of Turner vaulted to the top of the championship point standings in the Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock division with a victory in the 30-lap main event. Dufault, locked in a tight championship race against fellow Turner resident Calvin Rose, Jr., took to the outside groove to chase down the frontrunners from his 10th starting position.


Brian Caswell of Portland led a healthy chunk of the race, battling mostly with Waterboro’s Travis Lovejoy. After Dufault went by both to claim the lead, Lovejoy managed to claim runner-up honors in front of Caswell. Guy Childs of Sabattus had his best run of the season in fourth place. Matt Williams of Brownfield beat out Rose for fifth.


Jamie Heath of Waterford extended his championship points lead in the MacDonald Motors of Bridgton Bandits class with a dominant performance in his 20-lap feature race. Heath started 10th and got by early race leader Adam O’Neil less than five laps into the main event.


Second-place points man Tyler Green of Turner was a distant second-place finisher in the Bandit finale, with Bill Grover of Waterford claiming third-place honors. The previous week’s winner, Charlie ‘Chachy’ Hall of Oxford was fourth, followed by teammate Jacob Hall of Oxford.


Reigning champion and current championship point leader John Lizotte triumphed in a wild 15-lap race for the Ariens-Gravely-Dave’s Small Engines Figure 8 class. David Smith of South Paris bounced back from an early spin to claim runner-up honors, with early race leader Greg Durgin of South Paris third under the checkered flag.


SUPER LATE MODEL (50 laps) 1 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 2 48 Bobby Timmons, Windham; 3 23 Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay; 4 42 Corey Bubar, Windham; 5 25 Shawn Knight, 6 53 Alan Wilson, Hebron; 7 61 TJ Brackett, Buckfield; 8 7 Glen Luce, Turner; 9 60 Timmy Brackett, Buckfield; 10 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 11 24 Gunnar Rowe, Turner; 12 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 13 0 Spencer Morse, Waterford; 14 75 Gary Smith, Bangor; 15 77 Brandon Lambert, Colebrook, NH; 16 6 Shane Green, South Paris; 17 46 Dennis Spencer, Jr., Oxford; 18 54 Ryan Deane, Winterport; 19 03 Scott Moore, Anson.


-Oxford Plains Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Reid Lanpher Racing Facebook

Lanpher Goes to Victory Lane in Unexpected Trip to Oxford