Columbus, OH…In what will be remembered as one of the best races in recent memory Kyle Jones wowed his competitors and fans alike with a dramatic victory in Saturday’s 35-lap late model feature at Columbus Motor Speedway Saturday night. The 30-year-old driver secured his third NASCAR Whelen All American Series victory of 2015 with an impressive charge of epic proportion.

Daryl McKay and Donnie Hill brought the field to the green flag with the former taking control from the outset. Hill stretched his advantage over McKay who soon came under assault from Kyle Purvis. Purvis used the outside lane of the third- mile oval to bypass McKay. Claiming second spot on lap-5 he began to closing on the leader just as the caution flew for a spin by fast qualifier Kevin Mingus. In what turned out to be the final caution of the event, Hill led Purvis and McKay back to the green flag. Purvis stalked last week’s feature winner, Hill through lap-14, when a determined outside lane pass earned him the lead and what appeared to be his first late model feature win of the season. Pulling away to a five car length advantage all eyes turned to the eventual winner, Jones. From his eighth starting position he swept past Cody Robinson on lap-20 and set out after Hill. Continuing to take the long way around the near-circular oval, Jones disposed of early leader Hill next and went to work on race leader Purvis. With five laps remaining Jones pulled to the outside in a bid for the victory racing side-by-side with Purvis through lap-33 when he edged ahead. Jones was out front for good and carried a two car length advantage under the checkered flag ahead of Purvis, Hill, Robinson and Chad Pendleton.

Performing double duty throughout the 2015 season, Purvis claimed victory in the Columbus modified feature preceding the late model contest. With Gary Zink controlling from the outset of the open wheel 30-lap main event, the seventh starting Purvis was mired in traffic early on. Up to fifth spot by lap-10 he found his groove on the outside lane and swept past Greg Blackburn, Kevin Doran and Eddie Vallette before lowering his site on Zink. Closing by lap-20, Purvis powered around the outside and began to draw away as Doran followed along in his tire tracks. Only a late race caution with five to go slowed his charge. When Andy Shutts spun in turn four the field was bunched for restart with Purvis set to lead Doran, Zink and fast qualifier Shane Shirk back to the green flag but front end damage on Shirk’s car ended his evening. Purvis held on for the victory ahead of Doran, Zink, Buddy Townsend and Terry Humphrey.

George Lindsay notched win number five in the 25-lap sport stock contest outdistancing Phil Gussler Jr, Ralph Vinson, Chris Meier and Bruce Holmes.

In a rough and tumble crazy compact finale, Devin Stansbury muscled his way to victory claiming win number two in as many weeks. Second at the conclusion of the 20-lapper was Ryan Tamburro ahead of Danielle Brown, Shawn Vansickle and Ryan Smith.
Zach Miller procured his first career feature victory in legend car competition. The pride of South Charleston, OH outran Brandon DeBrakeleer, Adam Stercho, Jeff Dunphy and Jared Miller.

-Columbus Motor Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: John Rees Photo

May 30, 2015

(Columbus, OH)…


Late Model

Fast Time: Kevin Mingus 14.233

Dash: 1) Kyle Jones 2) Mike Rush 3) Chad Pendleton 4) Kevin Mingus
Heat: 1) Burgess White 2) Bill Cantley 3) Erika Newcome 4) Josh Cahill 5) Bobby Justus
Heat: 1) Kyle Purvis 2) Daryl McKay 3) Bill Browning 4) Ryan Fleming 5) Cody Robinson

Feature: 1) Kyle Jones 2) Kyle Purvis 3) Donnie Hill 4) Cody Robinson 5) Chad Pendleton
6) Ryan Fleming 7) Bill Browning 8) Mike Rush 9) Erika Newcome 10) Bobby Justus
11) Kevin Mingus 12) Daryl McKay 13) Bill Cantley 14) Burgess White 15) Jim Hursey
16) Josh Cahill

Columbus Modifieds

Fast Time: Shane Shirk 14.411

Dash: 1) Terry Humphrey 2) Buddy Townsend 3) Shane Shirk 4) Kyle Purvis
Heat: 1) Andy Shutts 2) John Donovan 3) Ethan Mullet 4) Brent Smith 5) Scott Jones
Heat: 1) Brian Whetnall 2) Eddie Vallette 3) Josh Kempf 4) Kevin Doran 5) Greg Blackburn

Feature: 1) Kyle Purvis 2) Kevin Doran 3) Gary Zink 4) Buddy Townsend 5) Terry Humphrey
6) Eddie Vallette 7) Greg Blackburn 8) John Donovan 9) Brian Whetnall 10) Josh Kempf
11) Scott Jones 12) Marc Life 13) Shane Shirk 14) Andy Shutts 15) Ethan Mullet
16) Brent Smith 17) Jeremy Menninger

Sport Stock

Fast Time: George Lindsay, 15.754

Heat: 1) Phil Gussler Jr 2) Ralph Vinson 3) Chris Meier 4) George Lindsay 5) Bruce Holmes

Feature: 1) George Lindsay 2) Phil Gussler Jr. 3) Ralph Vinson 4) Chris Meier 5) Bruce Holmes
6) Kenny Simpson 7) Steve Karnes

Crazy Compact

Fast Time: Ryan Tamburro 16.920

Feature: 1) Devin Stansbury 2) Ryan Tamburro 3) Danielle Brown 4) Shawn Vansickle
5) Ryan Smith 6) Jason Grove 7) Herman Dauge 8) Duane Davidson 9) Billy Ramey
10) Robb Gibson 11) Gwen Walsh 12) Steven McCoy 13) Cory Kyer 14) Shane Fitch
15) Charlie Hoepker 16) Michael Robison 17) Frank Hreha 18) Hotrod McElfresh

Legend Car

Fast Time: Zach Miller 16.031

Heat 1: 1) Donald Buell 2) Ryan Miller 3) Gerad Miller 4) Tyler McArdie 5) Mike Sharp
Heat 2: 1) Adam Sturgil 2) Josh Dietz 3) Zach Miller 4) Cody Anderson 5) Brandon DeBrakeleer

Feature: 1) Zach Miller 2) Brandon DeBrakeleer 3) Adam Sturgil 4) Jeff Dunfee 5) Gerad Miller
6) Cody Anderson 7) Ryan Miller 8) Tyler McArdie 9) Mike Sharp 10) Donald Buell
11) Eddie Mehl 12) Bob Eaton 13) Rodney Shrack 14) Josh Dietz 15) Jason Karr

Kyle Jones Charges To Epic Win At Columbus Motor Speedway