Kvapil’s 15 Hour Commute Pays Off With Red Race Win

Kaukauna, WI — Mooresville, North Carolina’s Carson Kvapil made the 15-hour trip to Kaukauna, Wisconsin payoff here Thursday night.


The second-generation racer, who’s father Travis Kvapil raced in NASCAR Winston Cup and regionally in late models, passed Reedsville’s Maxwell Schultz for the lead on lap 25 and kept the top spot through a pair of caution periods to capture the ‘Red Race’ in super late model action at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday.


Kaukauna’s Jesse Oudenhoven paced the opening seven circuits of the 45-lap contest until Schultz ducked underneath Oudehoven to grab the lead on lap eight. Oudenhoven stayed within striking distance of Schultz for the next several laps.


Meanwhile Kyle Calmes and Kvapil joined the chase around lap eight and the quartet ran nose-to-tail for the next several laps.


By lap 16 Schultz and Oudenhoven had pulled away from Calmes and Kvapil, who motored around Calmes for the third spot on lap 18. Kvapil took the second spot from Oudenhoven two laps later.


The caution flew for a lap 22 tangle in turn two involving Michael Anthony and Brady Baldry. With the field tightened up on the restart Schultz kept the lead with Kvapil and Oudenhoven running second and third, respectively.


On lap 25 Kvapil ducked underneath Schultz and pulled off the pass to take the lead. Kvapil was able to keep a comfortable six car margin between himself and Oudenhoven, who took second away from Schultz with 12 laps remaining.


Kvapil’s margin was erased with eleven laps remaining as the cars of Lowell Bennett, Alex Stumpf and R.J. Braun got caught up in a melee on the backstretch.


On the restart Kvapil pulled away to a comfortable one second lead. After the white flag flew the cars of Pete Vandermolen Jr. and Randy Schuler spun in corner four. Track policy dictates once the white flag has been displayed the race is compete and Kvapil won the contest. Oudenhoven, who had his hands full with a pesky Casey Johnson in the final laps captured second. Johnson settled for third at the pay window with Bobby Kendall and Grant Griesbach taking fourth and fifth places, respectively.


“We were able to get some practice in today but I didn’t think we’d be able to pull this off,” Kvapil said in victory lane. “It was my second time running here. My car was working better on the high line through the corners.”


Appleton’s Bryan Monday passed Nathan Van Wychen for the lead on lap ten and fought off late race pressure from Van Wychen, Mike King and Jesse Bernhagen until a yellow flew with three circuits remaining for a Jake Zielinski spin.


With a three lap shootout to the finish Van Wychen and Bernhagen applied the late race heat to Monday but the Appleton driver escaped with the win. Van Wychen placed second at the checkers followed by Bernhagen, King and Travis Rodewald.


Two Rivers native Andy Casavant pulled off the clean sweep in the super stock class. Casavant started out the night nailing down quick time. Casavant followed that up with both heat and feature wins. The victory was Casavant’s second here of the season.


Trailing Casavant at the checkers were Shane Krueger, Trevor Howard, Dave Meyerhofer and Chuck Gilberston.


Freedom’s Cody Vander Loop survived late race pressure from Appleton’s Kylee Vandermoss in the waning laps to capture the sport truck feature. Vandermoss settled for second place money. Marty Sokolik, Landon Braatz and J.J. Vander Loop placed third through fifth, respectively.


Appleton’s Mitchell Opsahl inherited the lead on the final circuit when leader Brody Rivest suddenly slowed. Opsahl captured the feature flag. Shiocton’s Jake Peters earned runner up honors, followed by Shaun Bangart, Ricky Kaufert and Opsahl.


Menasha’s Jordan Gracyalny emerged triumphant in the V6 Rovals while Hilbert’s Mike “Showstopper” Meyerhofer won the Figure 8 feature.


Next Thursday night June 17 Al Huss Auto sponsors the action as the ¼ Mile late models return. Racing gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check frrc.us for more information.


SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Carson Kvapil, Mooresville, NC; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Casey Johnson, Edgerton; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; Kyle Calmes, Freedom; Andy Monday, Appleton; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Nick Van, Kaukauna; Alex Seidl, Appleton; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Tanner Kelly, Waucedah, MI; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Pete Vandermolen Jr, Oshkosh; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; R.J. Braun, Wales; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Brady Baldry, Oshkosh; Jake Zielinski, Kaukauna

Qualifier One– Lowell Bennett; Trevor Vandermolen; Schuler; Vandermoss; Strelka; Baldry; Braun; Stumpf; Van; Effertz; Kelly; Anthony; Corey Manders, Hilbert

Fast Heat – Monday; Braison Bennett; Oudenhoven; Pete Vandermolen Jr; Calmes; Seidl

DASH – Johnson

FAST TIME: Johnson 19.220


LATE MODEL FEATURE- Bryan Monday, Appleton; Nate Van Wychen, Kaukauna; Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan; Mike King, Appleton; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Nick Egan, Slinger; Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Chase Randerson, Oshkosh; Todd Verhagen, Freedom; Jason Vandenberg, Kaukauna; Matt Wittman, Appleton; Brian Henry, Omro; Jake Zelinski, Kaukauna; Kevin Retzlaff, Berlin; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Mitch Haver, West Bend

HEATS 1) Bernhagen; Wittman 2) Springstroh; Van Wychen

DASH – Henry

FAST TIME- Bernhagen, 20.514


SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Andy Casavant, Two Rivers; Shane Krueger, Kaukauna; Trevor Howard, Kaukauna; Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Chuck Gilbertson, Kaukauna; Tony Wilz, Menasha

HEAT –Casavant; Dave Meyerhofer

FAST TIME – Casavant, 15.876


SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURE – Mitchell Opsahl, Freedom; Jake Peters, Shiocton; Shaun Bangart, Chilton; Ricky Kaufert, Freedom; Brody Rivest, Sheboygan

HEATS 1) Devin Yaeger, Appleton; Eli Schomer, Bucktown 2) Ariana Beattie, Little Chute; Ben Schulte, Appleton

FAST TIME – Scott Wolf, Appleton 18.209


SPORT TRUCK FEATURE – Cody Vander Loop, Freedom; Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton; Marty Sokolik, Fond Du lac; Landon Braatz, Shawano; J.J. Vander Loop, Freedom; Tanner Fickel, Appleton

HEATS 1) Jerry Vanderloop; Kyle Quella, Appleton 2) Cody Vander Loop; Bobby Wautier, Denmark

V6 ROVALS – Jordan Gracyalny, Menasha; Drew Diedrick, De Pere; Jon Ruh, Brillion

FIGURE 8 – Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert


-Wisconsin International Raceway Press Release
-Photo Credit: Carson Kvapil Racing Facebook

Kvapil’s 15 Hour Commute Pays Off With Red Race Win