DeGraff OH; The racing action at Shady Bowl Speedway was “Fast and Furious” in the early stages, but soon turned into all my rowdy friends are coming over tonight”

The 72 lap late model feature was a make up from an earlier rain out. It honors the memory of Bob Korn. The Miamisburg resident built cars that ran from the high banks of Daytona to the Forest ParkAmusement Park oval. Jacob Muncy took the lead on the start and looked to be headed to the checker until Josh Smith of Quincy put his familiar 93 Creative Die out front on lap 32. Smith paced the field the rest of the way to add to his point total as the season winds down.  Muncy ran a tough race to finish second. Mark Parker was third, with Ross Klinglehofer fourth and Tyler Mahaffey fifth. Mark Parker was the winner of the dash, with the heat win going to Jim Lewis Jr. Smith was the fast qualifier.

The street stocks also ran a 72 lap feature. It about this time in the distance you could hear Hank Jr. “Rowdy Friends” . Ricky Young took the field into turn one with 25 drivers trying get past. Jason Burnside

got by on lap seven and led thru lap 33. Ray Muncy took over the top spot the rest of the way. In the action Buck Purtee ended up on top of the turn two wall with heavy damage to the Buck truck. Muncy not only won the feature, he also set a new track record and picked up the hard charger award. Josh Poore, Josh Sage, Jamie Sites and Bo Hoelscher rounded out the top five. Andy Heath, Tim Hines and Jamie Sites took heat wins. Dave Sage won the dash.

Jim Lewis Jr won the Pro-4 main in a car owned by Steve Clarkson. Justin Meed, Matt Thompson, Josh Plummer and Paul Hazelett.

The compact drivers loaned their cars to the gals, for them to compete in a “Powder Puff” race. The cars were split into a rookie class that was won by Jessica Keaton. The pro division featured drivers who had racing experience. Amber Holley won the Pro class.

Kali Sharp required medical treatment after a turn one crash. Indications are she was treated and released.

This Saturday they will host the Vores Series front wheel cars. Late Models, street stock and compacts will also be in action. Racing will start at 7.


Shady Bowl Results 08-30-14

Late Models

Fast Qualifier: Josh Smith 13.775

Dash Winner: Mark Parker

Heat Winner: Jim Lewis Jr.

Feature: (72 laps) 1. Josh Smith 2. Jacob Muncy 3. Mark Parker 4. Ross Klingelhofer 5. Tyler Mahaffey 6. John Stroble 7. Jim Lewis Jr. 8. Curt Frazier 9. Chris Abbott 10. Gregg Jackson 11. Ray Muncy 12. Rich Gleason 13. Russ Bobb

Street Stocks

Fast Qualifier: Ray Muncy 14.920 NTR

Dash Winner: Dave Sage

Heat Winner: Andy Heath, Jamie Sites and Tim Hines

Feature: (72 laps) 1. Ray Muncy 2. Josh Poore 3. Josh Sage 4. Jamie Sites 5. Bo Hoelscher 6. Jason Burnside 7. Scott Sullenberger 8. Matt Clark 9. Tim Hines 10. Dave Little 11. Cory Lauderback 12. Robert Roush 13. Dave Sage 14. Andy Heath 15. Shawn Stansell 16. Dan Hall 17. Richard Roush 18. Chad Small 19. Ricky Young 20. Rodney Roush 21. Brian Brandyberry 22. Andy Huffman 23. Rob Fraley 24. Roger Roush 25. Jim Lewis Jr. 26. Chad Brandyberry

Pro 4’s

Fast Qualifier: Justin Meed 14.705

Feature: 1. Jim Lewis Jr. 2. Justin Meed 3. Matt Thompson 4. Josh Plummer 5. Paul Hazelett 6. John Pention 7. David Gertsner

Powder Puff PRO Feature 1. Amber Holley 2. Catelyn Parker 3. Lynn Mitchell 4. Kim Mahaffey 5. Sue Sutton

Powder Puff Beginner Feature: 1. Jessica Keaton 2. Hillary Ross 3. Lucy Barner 4. Mandy Gertsner 5. Heather Bowman 6. Nicole Callahan 7. Tina Purtee 8. Shelby George 9. Samantha Rees 10. Andrea Swink 11. Kali Sharpe

Korn Memorial Goes to Josh Smith at Shady Bowl