After taking the lead with just over 15 laps remaining in the Modified feature Friday night at Evergreen Raceway Park, Austin Kochenash of Danielsville proved to be too strong for his competition and drove off to his second win of the season in only his second start. Making his first start of the year in the Street Stock division, last years track champion, Kevin Higgins, of Alden shocked his competitors by taking the checkers for the win. Matt Mattern, Jr. of Mountaintop held off a win hungry Scott Sipe score his third Pure Stock win of the year and in a fight to the finish, Harry O’Neill of Mountaintop bested Heather Fennell and John Banashefski for his first Four Cylinder win of the season. Mitch Dowd of Pottstown dominated the INEX Legends feature to notch his first career Evergreen win and Long Island’s Rob McCormick raced his 6/8-Cylinder Enduro car with the Pure Stock, thus claiming the Enduro victory.

Jim Bojohnny led the Modified field to the drop of the green flag in the 35-lap main event. With one lap complete he stayed out front over Paul Frantz, Todd Baer, Brian DeFebo and Austin Kochenash. Baer quickly climbed to second and then with two laps complete Kochenash got under DeFebo to claim third.

With five laps complete, Baer edged Bojohnny to the stripe to lead a lap but it was short-lived and Bojohnny regained the spot. With Bojohnny still showing the way on lap 16, Baer’s car slipped in turns three and four. He spun, which brought out the first yellow flag of the show.

Kochenash lined up in second on the restart and with the green back out, he jetted to the top spot. Following two yellow flags seven laps later, which included a tangle between Jerry Hildebrand and Frantz, DeFebo restarted in third and then overtook Bojohnny for second.

But up front it was all Kochenash, who drove away with his second victory in as many starts at the track this season. DeFebo settled for second, followed by a solid third place rebounding finish for Baer. Bojohnny and Vince Biondollo completed the top five.

Heat race victories went to Todd Baer and Brian DeFebo.

Rich Emel led the Street Stock field to the drop of the green flag in the 30-lap feature. He led lap one over Justin Mooney, Kevin Higgins, Randy Schlenker and Mike Garris, Sr.

Higgins battled hard with Mooney and eventually took the second spot and Schlenker was up in the mix as well. Following a lap nine restart after a short yellow flag, Higgins overtook Emel for the lead and Mooney followed through to take second.

With Higgins still in command and trying to hold off Mooney, Schlenker and Emel, Schlenker and Mooney tangled. Both pitted with flat tires, which moved Robert Fink to second, Garris to third and Gordy Buchman, Jr. to the fourth spot.

The green flag came back out and Higgins continued to lead. Schlenker climbed back into the top five and with 16 laps complete he got by Fink for second. Ten laps later Mooney overtook Fink for third.

Schlenker reeled in the leader but came up short in the end, giving Higgins his first win of the season in his very first start. Mooney, Fink and Garris completed the top five/

Justin Mooney and Randy Schlenker scored heat race wins.

Scott Sipe led the Pure stock field to the green flag in the 20-lap feature. With a lap in the books he led over Matt Mattern, Jr, Tom Cassagrande, Mike Moyer, Sr. and John Banashefski.

Mattern worked high and low for real estate around Sipe, but Sipe kept the hammer down to stay out front. That all changed on lap four when Mattern saw an opening and took advantage, gaining the lead.

Sipe ran second to Mattern for some time and hoped for an opportunity to retake the lead. However, Mattern continued on to and held him off to notch his third win of the year. Sipe settled for second, followed by Cassagrande and Moyer. Rob McCormick who was one of several 6/8-Cylinder Enduros that competed with the Pure Stocks finished fifth overall and as the highest finishing Enduro driver, earned the victory in that particular class,

Matt Mattern, Jr. and Scott Sipe earned heat race victories.

Bob Azarowicz led the Four Cylinder field to the green flag in the 20-lap feature. However, Anthony Pugliese quickly overtook him for the lead. Heather Fennell ran in second, followed by Ray Fennell III, Harry O’Neill and Ron Heeter.

O’Neill got by R. Fennell for third on lap two and then muscled around H. Fennell for second on lap six. He battled Pugliese and took the lead one circuit later.

With six laps remaining, John Banashefski, who had been battling in the top five, followed H. Fennell past Pugliese for third. As the laps wound down the pair began to hunt down the leader.

In a nail biting last lap challenge, O’Neill held on to take his first win of the season. H. Fennell edged out Banashefski for third, followed by Pugliese and R. Fennell.

Heather Fennell and John Banashefski were heat race winners.

Bobby Jones started from the pole position and led the opening circuit of the 20-lap INEX Legends feature over Zack Wells, Mitch Dowd, Rick Collins and Ricky Collins.

Following a lap four restart, Dowd, who restarted in the second spot, took the lead and began to check out from the pack.

Dowd stayed smooth and consistent as he drove away with his first Evergreen victory over Ricky Collins, Jones, Rick Collins and Wells.

Dowd was also the heat race winner.

The next event at Evergreen Raceway Park is slated for Friday, June 27. The Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders and INEX Legends are on the card. The pit gates will open at 6 PM and practice is slated to begin at 7:15. Heat races will kick off at 8 PM.

Pit Admission at the track is $25 (With Pit License) and $35 without. It is NOT required to purchase a season pit license to compete. As always, grandstand Admission is $10 for adults and children 12 & under are admitted for free.

Evergreen Raceway Park is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. For more information, including upcoming shows, rules, payouts and news, please visit

Modifieds (35-laps) 1. AUSTIN KOCHENASH 2. Brian DeFebo 3. Todd Baer 4. Jim Bojohnny 5. Vince Biondolillo 6. Brian Sones 7. Paul Frantz 8. Jarred Nace 9. Jerry Hildebrand 10. Matt Higgins

Street Stocks (30-laps) 1. KEVIN HIGGINS 2. Randy Schlenker 3. Justin Mooney 4. Robert Fink 5. Mike Garris, Sr. 6. Bernie Uphold 7. Joe Stavoy 8. Gordy Buchman, Jr. 10. Rich Emel

Pure Stock (20-laps) 1. MATT MATTERN, JR. 2. Scott Sipe 3. Tom Cassagrande 4. Mike Moyer, Sr. 5. Rob McCormick (6/8-Cylinder Enduro winner) 6. Frank Katona 7. John Banashefski 8. Scott Adams 9. Steve Tito 10. Tony Hilliard

Four Cylinder (20-laps) 1. HARRY O’NEILL 2. Heather Fennell 3. John Banashefski 4. Anthony Pugliese 5. Ray Fennell III 6. Luke Colleran 7. Jay Skupski 8. Richie Pugliese 9. Ron Heeter 10. Larry Spencer III 11. Harry Sager 12. Carl Born 13. Steve Gehman 14. Bob Azarowicz

INEX Legends (20-laps) 1. MICH DOWD 2. Ricky Collins 3. Bobby Jones 4. Rick Collins 5. Zack Wells

Kochenash Becomes First Repeat Evergreen Mod Winner