When the fans left Owosso Speedway (MI) after Saturday night’s Big O Classic 100 for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour, they left with the impression that local favorite and future NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Erik Jones scored the win.  However, Champion Racing Association (CRA) officials determined that Jones’ No. 20 Pro Late Model did not pass post-race technical inspection.


Multiple race teams informed Speed51.com on Sunday morning that Jones was disqualified for a left-side weight infraction.  According to 51’s sources, Jones weighed in 0.2% over the allowed left-side weight rule for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour.


The win was awarded to Travis Eddy after tech inspection was complete.  Jones was not disqualified, but was scored as the 26th and final finisher.


Travis Eddy was awarded the win following post-race tech. (CRA photo)

Travis Eddy was awarded the win following post-race tech. (CRA photo)

CRA race director Glenn Luckett told Speed51.com powered by JEGS that the series does not disclose tech inspection infractions, but did confirm to Speed51 that Jones would be scored as the last-place finisher and Eddy would be scored as the winner.


Jones, who grew up just 30 miles west of Owosso Speedway in Byron, Michigan, was one of the fastest cars all day long.  He was near the top in all three practice sessions, two of which were shortened due to rain.


The car Jones was driving Saturday night is the car he normally drivers as a Super Late Model through the country.  For this race, Jones converted the car to a Pro Late Model with a crate engine.


The 2015 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion started seventh due to the invert after qualifying second and methodically worked his way through the field.


Jones took the lead from JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour points leader Cody Coughlin just past halfway and led the rest of the way.


At the end of a race that saw a myriad amount of cautions, Jones took the checkered flag followed by Eddy, Carson Hocevar, Dan Leeck and Kyle Crump.


The penalty to Jones gave Kyle Hayden the final spot in the top five.


Jones was unable to be reached for comment after the penalty announcement was made by the Champion Racing Association.


-By 51 Staff

-Photo credit: Speed51.com


Big O Classic 100

Owosso Speedway, Ovid, Michigan

Unofficial Results

Pos. No. Driver
1 7 Travis Eddy
2 14H Carson Hocevar
3 12 Dan Leeck
4 7C Kyle Crump
5 14H Kyle Hayden
6 83 Andy Bozell
7 1 Cody Coughlin
8 29 Austin Kunert
9 30 Joshua James
10 81 Tristan Van Wieringen
11 20 Jack Dossey III
12 51 Brandon Oakley
13 71 Lindsey VanDoorn
14 10 Steve Dorer
15 4 Chris Hacker
16 7M David McManus
17 11 DJ Weltmeyer
18 5 Michael Clancy
19 2 Clarity Newhouse
20 47 Dakota Stroup
21 04 Phil Bozell
22 5L Eric Lee
23 98 Jay Sommers
24 28 Jack Smith
25 7X David Carter
26 20 Erik Jones

Jones Has JEGS Tour Win Taken Away at Home Track