Joey Pole Holds On for PASS North White Mountain Win

The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) always puts on a show when they come to White Mountain Motorsports Park, and Sunday afternoon was no exception.  Hudson, New Hampshire’s Joey Polewarczyk dueled all race with the series’ best, and held off everyone to score his first PASS North win of the season ahead of Joey Doiron and D.J. Shaw.

WATCH REPLAY: PASS at White Mountain

“We had a really good car,” Polewarczyk said.  “We didn’t have the speed that a lot of people had, I think first practice we were the slowest car here.  We worked at it all day and got it driving better.


“Right when the race took off there, I knew the car was good, and we got into a spot where we could ride for a little bit, then got an opportunity to get around Ben [Rowe] and then just tried to never give it up, and luckily we had enough to hold on.”


Berwick, Maine’s Joey Doiron gave Polewarczyk all he could handle, but in the end just didn’t have the car he needed to track down the leader.  The car’s handling was not to his liking, and he ultimately had to settle for second


“We were way too loose on the restarts,” Doiron said.  “I thought I had enough at the end, I just kept getting loose every yellow, just looser and looser in.  We needed five, ten laps.  It started to go away, but just not enough laps at the end.”


D.J. Shaw had to dodge several accidents throughout the afternoon, but avoided the chaos to finish on the podium.


“It was controlled chaos there for a little bit,” Shaw said.  “It was tough fighting with Joey, Johnny [Clark] and Ben [Rowe], Ryan [Green], everybody raced with respect.  To come out of it unscathed with a third place finish, […]I think we can all be satisfied with the result as a team.”


Early race leader Ben Rowe had his best run in recent memory, wheeling his No. 4 to a strong fourth-place finish.  Johnny Clark, who had the fastest car in the first half of the race, had a right front tire go down, but recovered to finish fifth.


Dan Winter, Ryan Robbins, Kate Re, Justin Larson, and Rowland Robinson, Jr. finished in the top 10.

Joey Polewarczyk took the win in the PASS Super Late Model feature, while Max Cookson went to victory lane with the PASS Modifieds.

In the 50-lap PASS Modified race, Max Cookson stole the victory late with a spectacular 3-wide pass for the lead on lap 47.  Tyler King was attempting to hold off Spencer Morse for the lead, and Cookson saw his opportunity.  He sent it up the inside into Turn 1, got around both cars, and drove away to take his second win of the season.  Spencer Morse finished second and Tyler King third, with Gary Chiasson and A.J. Cates rounding out the top five.


The Open Street Stock race saw a fierce, race-long battle between Kris Watson and Jimmy Renfrew, Jr.  Late-race incidents put Renfrew out of the race and sent Watson to the back, leaving Jason Woodard to take the win ahead of Tanner Woodard and a rebounding Kris Watson.


The next race for the Pro All-Stars Series is in just two weeks’ time, as they head back to Oxford for the sixth race of the 2021 season.


-Story by: Ian Pettigrew, Speed51 Northeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


PASS 150 Unofficial Results

  1. Joey Polewarczyk
  2. Joey Doiron
  3. J. Shaw
  4. Ben Rowe
  5. Johnny Clark
  6. Dan Winter
  7. Ryan Robbins
  8. Kate Re
  9. Justin Larson
  10. Rowland Robinson, Jr.
  11. Brian Whalley
  12. Ryan Green
  13. Craig Weinstien
  14. Scott McDaniel
  15. Austin Teras
  16. Shane Clark
  17. Jeremy Davis
  18. Eddie MacDonald
  19. Gabe Brown
  20. Mark Patten
  21. Evan Hallstrom
  22. Anthony Constantino

Joey Pole Holds On for PASS North White Mountain Win