WINCHESTER, NH – Tyler Jarvenpaa got to the front quickly Saturday, June 14, in the Sportsman Modified main event, and then outran the rest of the potent 19 car field to score his first victory of the season at Monadnock Speedway.

Other winners on the first leg of the high-banked speedplant’s first of three 2014 Triple Crown events included Tom Carey III, who won his fifth Super Stock feature in as many weeks; Mike Stebbins, the winner of his division-leading fourth victory of the summer; and Young Gun Mike McGoldrick Jr., who earned his second victory lap this season.

Kyle Boniface outran the Lightning Stock field to win for the third time. Dave Greenslit earned his second Thunder Stock victory; and Pro-4 Modified pilot Dan Fresh scored his first-ever Monadnock feature win.

Brad Zahensky grabbed the early lead in the Sportsman Modified 35-lapper, leading Trevor Bleau under the flags the first two go-rounds, with Jarvenpaa nipping at their back bumpers from the drop of the green. Jarvenpaa seized second on lap three, then powered past Zahensky four laps later for the lead.

The lead pair would run in that order until a lap 23 restart, when Keith Carzello – firing from row five – moved up to second, and Todd Patnode, who had swept a pair of feature wins a week earlier, powered into third. Jarvenpaa, though, had the field covered on this night.

With Carzello a strong second, four lengths behind the winner, Patnode was able to pad his divisional points lead with the third-place finish. Bill Kimball came home fourth, and Brett Gonyaw was fifth on the night.

In the Super Stock feature, Ian MacDonald grabbed the opening lead, pacing the field for four laps until Alyssa Rivera charged to the point on lap five. With Rivera and Tyler Leary battling at the front of the pack, Tom Carey III – bidding for his fifth consecutive win – cruised into third on lap ten, grabbed second on lap 13, and powered into the lead a lap later.

Rivera’s strong run would be diminished on lap 25 when she and Tyler Leary made contact. Tyler Lescord moved up when misfortune struck Rivera, darting into second on the ensuing restart, but would come up short of denying Carey his fifth win.

With Lescord strong in second, Dave Striebel, Nancy Muni-Ruot, and Leary rounded out the top five.

Kevin McKnight set the pace the first three laps of the Mini Stock feature, with Julia Raymond glued to his bumper. Raymond inched ahead of McKnight on lap four, with Beth Adams and Mike Stebbins both following her forward, with McKnight backpeddling as he got hung in the outside lane.

Stebbins claimed second on lap six, then holding the deuce spot until lap 11. With Stebbins then taking charge, he would run out the race from the point to score his fourth win of the summer.

Raymond, strong all night, chased Stebbins under the checkers to earn the runner-up finish, with Adams following in her shadow to come home third. Chris McTaggart was solid in fourth, and Justin Faford claimed fifth, his second top-five finish in as many weeks.

Daniel Wesson grabbed the lap-one lead in the Young Guns feature, with Mike McGoldrick quickly pulling up to challenge him. McGoldrick was on a mission, taking the lead and then quickly opening a 20-length lead.

While Wesson would relinquish the lead, he would drop no further. With McGoldrick easily outdistancing the field to earn his second win of the summer, Wesson completed his own strong night’s work in second, just ahead of Cole Littlewood and Matt Kimball.

Richard Whipple took the opening lead in the Lightning Stock main, holding the point until Tim O’Shea powered past him on lap six. O’Shea’s bid for victory would be thwarted by mechanical woes, as he coasted into the infield while leading on lap 20.

With O’Shea done for the night, Kyle Boniface then took over, grabbing the point and blasting off to victory a third-lap ahead of runner-up Tim Paquette. Pat Houle was third, with Hillary Renaud and Eric Silvernale rounding out the top five.

Jason Barden led the first 18 laps of the Thunder Stock feature, then giving way to Dave Greenslit, who, once in front, never looked back. With Greenslit earning his second win of the season, Randy McGee made a last-lap pass to claim second. Marshall Usher, Henry Martin, and Barden completed the top five.

Dan Fresh took the lead from Derek Robbie on lap 19 of the Pro-4 Modified feature then darted off to victory. Robbie was second, and Dan Meservey Sr. third. Tom Royer guided the first Pro-4 Lite machine under the flags.

This Saturday, June 21, Monadnock Speedway will return to action, with the NEMA and NEMA Lite racers in town to compete in the Iron Mike Memorial. The Sportsman Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, Young Guns, Lightning Stocks, and Thunder Stocks will all be featured. Post time is 6 pm.

Monadnock Speedway Results – June 14, 2014

Sportsman Modified: Tyler Jarvenpaa, Keith Carzello, Todd Patnode, Bill Kimball, Brett Gonyaw, Brad Zahensky, Brian Chapin, Trevor Bleau, Joe Kendall, Eric LeClair, Leslie Keyser, JT Cloutier, Kim Rivet, Nicki Ouellette, Adam Norton, JohnStudley, Steve Fifield, Scott MacMichael, Matt Rzewnicki

Super Stocks: Tom Carey III, Tyler Lescord, Dave Striebel, Nancy Muni, Tyler Leary, Bill Johnston, James Thompson, Alyssa Rivera, Ian MacDonald

Mini Stocks: Mike Stebbins, Julia Raymond, Beth Adams, Chris McTaggart, Justin Faford, Cameron Sontag, Joel Monahan, Eric Pomasko, Joe Rogers, Ethan Marsh, Kevin McKnight, Dana Shepard

Thunder Stocks: Dave Greenslit, Randy McGee, Marshall Usher, Henry Martin, Jason Barden, Paul Barnard, Tyler Janovsky, James Nowakowski, Scott Bourn, Chris Lawrence, Doug Guy, Caleb Cashman, Adam Gray

Lightning Stocks: Kyle Boniface, Tim Paquette, Pat Houle, Hillary Renaud, Eric Silvernale, Kyle Robinson-Newell, Tim O’Shea, Richard Whipple, Matt Somerville

Young Guns: Mike McGoldrick, Dan Wesson, Cole Littlewood, Matt Kimball, Solomon Brow, Devin Guy, Dylan Morse, Justin Littlewood, Mariah Stebbins, Hayley Guy, Dan Starkweather

-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Chip Comrie

Jarvenpaa Takes Sportsman Mod Checkers at Monadnock