Lancaster, NY – Andy Jankowiak of Tonawanda, NY etched his name in the US Open record books yet again as he won the 75-lap Sportsman feature on Saturday night for his fifth-straight victory in the event.


Jankowiak started on the pole and led all 75 laps to capture his record-tying sixth career US Open feature win. He has five Sportsman wins and one win in Street Stocks, which ties him with Kirk Rutherford for the most wins all-time in the 26-year history of the event.


Tony Hanbury of Owego, NY finished second after chasing Jankowiak around the track for most of the event. Hanbury started fourth and made his way into the runner-up spot on lap 18. He was the only car that could keep pace with the leader throughout the race. Jankowiak’s car developed a push late in the feature, which gave Hanbury a couple of openings, but he could not take advantage.


Both Jankowiak and Hanbury were nearly overtaken with nine laps to go when the leader lost control in turn four. Third place Jimmy Zacharias tried to dive to the inside but Jankowiak was able to correct the car and maintain the lead. Zacharias settled for third while Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr. and Mark Pennell rounded out the top five.


A total of 34 cars attempted to qualify for the 24-car feature. Former Late Model driver and current NASCAR K&N East Series team owner, Troy Williams, won the B-Main in a car owned by Jeff Evans.


The Street Stocks boasted an impressive 29-car field as teams from both asphalt and dirt tracks across Western New York came together for an exciting race.


Rich Sharpe of Lancaster, NY won the 25-lap feature as he survived a pair of green-white-checkered restarts to get his first career win. Ransomville Speedway Street Stock champion, Brian Lonneville, provided a strong challenge from second after giving up the lead to Sharpe on lap 14. Lonneville received a $150 bonus and a special trophy from Custom Pinstriping by Paul for being the first dirt track regular across the finish line.


Lancaster Street Stock champion, TJ Cochrane, finished third after a last-lap battle with Lonneville. Keith Flanigan and Nate Straus rounded out the top five finishers.


Al Piasecki won the 25-lap 4-Cylinder feature for his first career US Open triumph. Piasecki inherited the lead on lap six after pole sitter Chris Pennell dropped out of the race with mechanical problems. Tim Durfy finished second followed by Tom Lalomia, Jr., Kenny Hejna and Bob Bogner.


Jeremy Haudricourt of Bliss, NY won the 25-lap Legends car feature for his fifth-career win in the event. This was the sixth year the Legends have run at the US Open and Haudricourt has won five out of the six races.


Carl Vilardo dominated the race early on but dropped out with mechanical problems on lap 10. Dave Wollaber, driving a team car to Haudricourt, was also in contention for the win but blew an engine at the halfway point of the race. Andy Jankowiak finished second in his first time driving a Legend car. Michael Anderson, Anthony Riforgiato and Cody Myers rounded out the top five.


Paul McCarthy of Clarence, NY won the 12-lap Vintage Car feature driving an asphalt Modified coupe. Mark Loveland finished second in a vintage Late Model and Rick St. Pierre finished third in a vintage Dirt Modified. Race fans enjoyed the show that was put on by the variety of classic race cars.


The Sunday portion of the 26th annual US Open was postponed due to rain. The remainder of the race weekend will be run on Saturday, October 4 (raindate October 5). The Race of Champions Modified Tour Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 125 will be headline the event. The NYPA TQ Midgets, Big 10 Super Stock Series and Late Models will also be in action. The event schedule will be released shortly at


-Photo Credit: HAB Photo





Heat winners: Rusty Smith, Andy Jankowiak, Dave Tedesco, Rick Kluth
B-Main winner: Troy Williams

Feature: ANDY JANKOWIAK, Tony Hanbury, Jimmy Zacharias, Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr., Mark Pennell, Camden Barber, Troy Williams, Neal Dietz, Jr., Tony Carone, Ricky Knapp, Russ Gian, Sherri Hogan, Dave Tedesco, Amy Catalano, Rick Kluth, Moose Rutherford, John Barber, Tommy Catalano, Jake Lyon, Tom MacLeod, TJ Potrzebowski, Rusty Smith, Alan Bookmiller, Jim Pierce

DNQ: Tim Garlock, Dick Kluth, Jayme Thompson, Tim Nies, Kalie Clementi, Car #2, Tom Wiest, Paul Stolzenburg, Shawn Nye



Heat winners: TJ Cochrane, Brian Lonneville, Alex Morris

Feature: RICH SHARPE, Brian Lonneville, TJ Cochrane, Keith Flanigan, Nate Straus, Brandown Sherwood, Kris Hamann, Tim Welshans, Eric Brown, Ken Maltby, Tommy Wentland, Dave Vona, Gary Bartella, Jim Stein, Heather Weber, Jerome Hruby, Bob Blaszak, Mike Dalfonso, Sr., Jeff Whalen, Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Bob Heineman, Alex Morris, Ashley Kirchberger, Terry Weldy, Don Sitarski, Jon Richael, Kenny Hejna, Ken Camidge



Heat winners: Tom Lalomia, Jr., Al Piasecki, Jim Bryant

Feature: AL PIASECKI, Tim Durfy, Tom Lalomia, Jr., Kenny Hejna, Bob Bogner, Eric Hastrieter, Garret Cleversley, Kevin Bainbridge, Joe Brunka, Jim Tobin, Dave Anaszewicz, Charles Buchanan, Sylvia Welshans, Bob Hanel, Sr., Rich Bartel, Chris Pennell, Joshua Hill, Peter Koschuk, Jason Anaszewicz, Jim Bryant, Mike Meyers



Heat winners: Carl Vilardo IV, Jeremy Haudricourt

Feature: JEREMY HAUDRICOURT, Andy Jankowiak, Michael Anderson, Anthony Riforgiatio, Cody Myers, Brett Coon, Brad Salatino, Larry Occhibone, John Lindstrom, Michael Riforgiato, Dave Wollaber, Carl Vilardo IV, Melissa Brockman



Heat winners: Paul McCarthy, Les Myers

Feature (top 5 finishers): PAUL MCCARTHY, Mark Loveland, Rick St. Pierre, Bob Ripley, Roy Rinne

Jankowiak Claims Fifth Straight US Open Sportsman Win