Bradenton’s Jesse Dutilly really wanted to win one of the six Bright House Challenge Series races that are contested throughout the year at various race tracks around Florida.

Dutilly made his wish come true Saturday night, thrilling his hometown fans on his way to a win in the Jack Smith Memorial – and locking up the Bright House Series championship in the process.

The Sun Belt Rentals of Fort Myers Street Stocks followed with a 50-lap feature event. Palmetto’s Nick Hernandez moved second on lap 3 and passes Wilson for the lead just before a caution came out for a spin by Tim Miller Jr. During the yellow points leader Ander Jackson, who accepted a $200 challenge to win the race from the rear of the field, pulled into the pits with a mechanical failure.

James Nanney got by Wilson for second on lap 19. Hernandez was pulling away from the rest of the field when David Blachard’s spin brought out the yellow just past the halfway point.

Nanney and Wilson staged a side-by-side battle for second for several laps after the restart, allowing Hernandez to pull away from the rest of the pack. Hernandez went unchallenged the rest of the way, adding to his feature wins in Open Wheel Modifieds and Desoto Pro Trucks this season.

“It was a fun ride tonight,” said Hernandez, who was making his first start in a street stock car driving for car owner Mike Karrivan. “It was really fast.” Nanney, Wilson, James Dellea III and Bobby Fisher rounded out the top five. After tech inspections were complete the following cars did not pass, 45, 42 and 2 which moved the 6 of James Nanney to the winner followed by James Dellea III and Dave Bowman third.

In other action Saturday night, Duane Best led a Best family sweep of the top three spots in the LKQ Pick Your Part Pure Stock 25-lap feature. Jimmie Best and Kyle Best finished second and third, respectively. Jeff Firestine won the Modified Mini feature.

Next week the Safety Kleen TBARA winged sprint cars return to Desoto Speedway for their season finale. The Joey Coulter Florida Pro Trucks will be on hand for their 75-lap season finale, and the J.D. Byrider Open Wheel Modifieds will have a 75-lap Shootout. Pure Stocks, Rookie 4’s and Mini Stocks will also be in action.

Track PR –


Super Late Model

 1. 30 Jesse Dutilly Bradenton Fast Time

 2. 20 Anthony Sergi Geneva

 3. 6 Jeff Scofield Plant City

 4. 10 George Gorham Lake Wales

 5. 9 Rich Clouser Deland

 6. 128 Dylan Bigley Naples

 7. 17 Nick Neri Palmetto

 8. 07 Tyler Scofield Plant City

 9. 47 Chris Fontaine Lakeland

 10. 5a Jerry artuso Ontario

 11..16 Tim Sozio Debary

 12. 28d T. J. Duke South West Ranches

 13. 77 Scott Walters Naples

 14. 5 Joe Boyd Riverview

 15. 5x Steve Gill Sarasota

 16. 42 Troy McNabb Naples

 17. 32 Harold Grooms Lakeland

 18. 4 Dennis Colletti Bradenton

 19. 14 Mario Maresca Fort Lauderdale

 20. 28 Biilly Bigley Naples D.N.S.

 Street Stock


1 6 James Nanney Bradenton

 2 77 James Dellea 3rd. Port Charlotte

 3 64 Dave Bowman Bradenton

 4 98 Cody Benoit Buckingham

 5 10 Tim Miller Bradenton

 6 27 John Heidenthal Myakka City

 7 57 Jim Bremmer Bradenton

 8 50 David Blanchard Bradenton

 9 33 Brian Tetters Palmetto

 10 91 Ander Jackson Punta Gorda Fast Time

 11 7 James Dellea Port Charlotte

 12. 2 Bobby Fischer Naples DQ in tech

 13. 42 Dennis Wilson Bradenton DQ in tech

 14. 45 Nick Hernandez Bradenton DQ in tech


Pure Stock

 1. 3 Duane Best Parrish

 2. 67 Jimmy Best Sarasota

 3. 63 Kyle Best Parrish

 4. 97 Chris Scott Nokomis

 5. 29 Brad Tindall Sarasota

 6. 36x James Widner Myakka City

 7. 44 Rick Hess Englewood

 8. 98 Cody Benoit Bucking Ham

 9. 57 Aaron Holmes Auburndale D..N.S.


Modified Mini

 1. 93 Jeff Firestine Venice

 2.32 Dean Butrum Venice

 3. 6 Dave Davis Bradenton

 4. 95 Ronnie Brock Jr. Sebring


 1. 1 Jeff Firestine Venice

 2. 75 Carl Thompson Auburndale

 3. 63 James Wright Naples

 4. 10 Triston Collins North Port

 5. 32 Shawn Shinault Punta Gorda

 6. 57 Aaron Holmes Auburndale D.N.S. 

James Nanney & Jeff Firestine Highlight Desoto Winners