NAPLES, ME – Maine race fans wait is finally over as short track racing returns this Sunday afternoon to Oxford Plains Speedway. The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Super Late Models will make their first stop of the season in Maine this weekend in the Speedway Homes 150.


If last year’s PASS action at Oxford Plains Speedway is any indication, fans might be in store for another “instant” classic. As a matter of fact, fans were treated to three of the most memorable finishes in series history in 2016 at Oxford Plains.


It all started a year ago in the 2016 Speedway Homes 150. Three of the biggest names in PASS history battled three-wide in the late going to determine the victor. The all-time winningest driver in PASS history, Ben Rowe, prevailed over six-time series champion, Johnny Clark, and the eventual 2016 champion, DJ Shaw, in one of the most exciting finishes Maine race fans have ever seen. But the excitement did not end there.
In July, and with a guaranteed starting spot in the prestigious Oxford 250 on the line, New Hampshire’s Wayne Helliwell, Jr. and Joey Polewarcyzk, battled side-by-side over the race’s final laps. At the checkered flag, it was a photo finish. After a day reviewing video evidence, PASS officials determined that the race was a “dead heat” and for the only time in PASS history, both Helliwell and Polewarcyzk were credited with the win.


For Helliwell, that finish proved prophetic. Just over a month later in the Oxford 250, again he was in the midst of a side-by-side battle, this time, with two-time 250 winner, Travis Benjamin. Expertly using a lapped car to his advantage, Helliwell managed to pass Benjamin to go on and claim the biggest win in his career.
This year’s race is expected to be no different with a field stacked with champions for Sunday afternoon’s Speedway Homes 150, including former Oxford 250 winners, Ben Rowe, Mike Rowe, Travis Benjamin, Glen Luce, and Joey Polewarcyzk. Former PASS champions, Johnny Clark, Cassius Clark, Joey Doiron, and DJ Shaw are entered as well as top series runners like Dave Farrington, Jr., Derek Griffith, and Garrett Hall. Among the drivers entered from Canada are New Brunswick’s Greg Fahey and British Columbia’s Sarah Cornett-Ching, both who will be attempting their first starts at Oxford Plains. Currently, over 30 drivers are entered with more expected this weekend.


All the action gets under way on Saturday at Oxford Plains Speedway with open practice for all competing divisions weather permitting. On Sunday, racing is slated to begin at 2 PM for the PASS North Super Late Models, PASS Modifieds, Legends, and the Quad Crown Series for Street Stocks.


PASS North Super Late Model entry forms for Oxford Plains Speedway, Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, Caraway Speedway, Star Speedway, Concord Speedway, Thunder Road International Speedbowl, and the 44th Annual HP Hood Oxford 250 can be found at


The Pro All Stars Series is recognized as North America’s premier sanctioning body for asphalt Super Late Models and boasts such marquee events as the legendary Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway and PASS South’s Easter Bunny 150 and Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown at the historic Hickory Motor Speedway. For technical information concerning all PASS divisions please send questions to [email protected] For media or marketing questions, please contact Alan Dietz at 704-231-2039 or [email protected] And, don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.


-PASS Press Release. Photo credit: Norm Marx

Is Another Classic Finish in Store for PASS North at Oxford?