Millersville, TN -The entry list for the inaugural Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs at Highland Rim Speedway continues to grow, with drivers from across the country entered in the event.  While there are many story lines that will dominate the weekend, the most interesting may be the points battle headed into the final race.  Coming into the weekend, which caps off a very successful debut of the Pro-8 Late Model Series, Michael House leads Mark Day by only three points, and the top six in the points battle are within striking distance of claiming the inaugural title.  Each of these drivers must be at the top of his game throughout the weekend, as one’s mistake may be another’s good fortune.


Added into the drama of a tight points battle is the influx of racing talent signed on to take part in the inaugural Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs.  While the racing action at the 1/4 mile track has been tight, with tempers flaring in each of the races, it will only become tighter, as more than 30 drivers are attempting to lay their claim to one of the 26 starting positions.


The field serves as a diverse cross-section of the national racing scene, pitting Highland Rim Veterans against big-race experience, as two-time Snowball Champion Augie Grill and Daytona 500 Champion Sterling Marlin have entered the race.  Ohio’s Jack Smith was in attendance for the last 125-lap Pro-8 Late Model event, coming from the back to the front of the field twice in the event, with one of the fastest cars on the track throughout the race.  Veteran drivers Wade Day, Hunter Spivey, Chris Whorton, and Lickskillet, Alabama’s own Johnny Brazier, will also be making the trek to Highland Rim Speedway, with high hopes to capture the inaugural crown.


While the veterans may seem to be the shoe-ins to take home the victory, a third group has emerged, looking to not only make a name for themselves, but do so on a very big stage.  The youth movement will be well represented at Highland Rim Speedway for the Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs, led by first-year late model driver Dylan Fetcho.  Fetcho is following in his father Scott’s footsteps, piloting the Big Machine Records Chevrolet Camaro, and currently sits fourth in the points standings, 14 points behind series leader Michael House.  In addition to Fetcho, another young racer, Spencer Davis, will be helping lead the charge for the racing youth.  The Georgia native will be making his first start at Highland Rim Speedway, but his fast learning skills will no doubt land him as one of the contenders for the win on Saturday.


The Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs Weekend will kick-off Thursday, October 22, with an optional practice day, and go into high gear Friday morning, with practice sessions, Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs Qualifying, as well as local division racing and a $5 Grandstand Admission.  Saturday will feature Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs Last Chance Races, local division racing, and will be capped off with the running of the inaugural Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs.


Grandstands will be open each day, with free admission on Thursday, $5 Admission for ages 6 & Up on Friday, and $20 Adult Admission, $18 Admission for Military/Seniors/Students 13-17, $5 Admission for Youths 6-12, and as always, children 5 & Under will be admitted free with a paying adult.  3-day pit passes available for $80, 2-day pit passes are $70, and a daily pit admission of $15 for Thursday, $30 for Friday, and $40 for Saturday.


For more information about the Volunteer 300 presented by Swift Springs or Highland Rim Speedway, visit or call 615-643-TRAK (8725).


Inaugural Volunteer 300 Presented by Swift Springs Entry List

(As of 10/21)

1. Michael House TN
2. Mark Day TN
3. Augie Grill AL
4. Jack Smith OH
5. Wade Day KY
6. Sterling Marlin TN
7. Justin Ashburn TN
8. Billy Sisco TN
9. Dylan Fetcho TN
10. JC Newell MO
11. William Hale TN
12. Johnny Brazier TN
13. Mike Barrett TN
14. Bobby Terry TN
15. Spencer Davis GA
16. Kyle Ivey TN
17. Allen Carter TN
18. Brendan Willard MO
19. Davey Coble TN
20. Mitch Smith AL
21. Johnny Wilhite TN
22. Nathan Davis AL
23. Ricky Sanford TN
24. Hunter Byrd TN
25. Matt Spurlock TN
26. Chris Whorton TN
27. Waylon Jenkins TN
28. Stacy Crain TN
29. Ryan Isaacs KY
30. Walt Garrison TN
31. Keith McReynolds KY
32. Kevin Willis KY
33. Mike Pruitt TN
34. Hunter Spivey AL
35. Jared Smith KY
36. Bobby Castleberry TN

-Volunteer Speedway Press Release.

Entry List for Volunteer 300 at ‘The Rim’ Continues to Grow